RSS

Washing Machine Troubles

14 Jun

During our recent trip to the Oregon Coast, we had the pleasure of staying in three beautiful WorldMark condos which were each equipped with a washing machines. Now I know it doesn’t sound particularly appealing to be doing laundry on vacation, but it is kind of convenient to be able to put a load of sandy, wet kids clothing into a washing machine and be able to pack up clean, dry clothing into the suitcase the next day.

 However, we had a few troubles this time around. Namely, we accidently put a pair of my pants into the washing machine which still had my beloved iPod Nano in it, along with my 1 GB memory stick with all kinds of information. Electronics loathe water (so I’m told) and I was exceedingly upset that the person who put the pants in the washing machine didn’t the pockets first. That person reminded me that I should remove anything from my pockets before putting something in the “to be washed” pile. Anyway, needless to say, my little devices suffered a sad fate… The next morning, Robin said the family prayer and, in jest, asked that our iPod could be “miraculously resurrected.” I plugged it in and it didn’t work. I guess I didn’t exercise enough faith. HOWEVER, three days later I plugged it in and, by jolly, it worked. Miracle of miracles! I guess some blessings take time. My memory stick also works. Can you believe it?

nano.jpg

Anyway, the next day we had another snafu with the washing machine. A purple crayon found its way into the load and covered all the clothes with purple splotches. Nice, eh? I’m thinking it was in someone’s pocket. What’s that phrase about unless we learn from the past we’re bound to repeat it? Yikes! And crayon doesn’t come out easily, especially after it’s been cooked on in a dryer. Oh well. Clothes can be replaced, or better yet, perhaps we can start a new fashion trend!

crayon_purple_1.jpg

 
3 Comments

Posted by on June 14, 2007 in Random Thoughts

 

3 responses to “Washing Machine Troubles

  1. liz

    June 15, 2007 at 12:06 am

    I hate crayons in the dryer! I’ve had this happen twice, and it’s made me a lot more vigilant about checking pockets, something my mother tried to instill in childhood…

     
  2. robinbl

    June 15, 2007 at 8:19 pm

    Maybe we need to pray for the air conditioning too.

     

Leave a Reply

 
