RSS

Summer Beard Tradition

15 Jun

Ah, the annual beard growing tradition… It all started back in the summer of 2000 when my brother Aaron suggested we have a beard growing contest during our vacation to southern Oregon. So Matt, Dan, Aaron, me and our dad Kent all grew beards for a week. (Nate didn’t participate since he was serving a mission in Moscow and facial hair for missionaries is frowned upon.) Anyway, Aaron won that contest handily because of his prolific hair growing capabilities, not to mention the nearly black color of his facial hair. Nate and I are probably the least hairy of the five brothers. I often joke that I’m more like the smooth-skinned Jacob from the Old Testament, and that Aaron and Dan are more like Jacob’s twin brother, Essau, who was Issac’s hairy, wild and rebellious son. 🙂

Anyway, for the past seven years, I have made it an annual tradition to grow a beard. But it’s much harder these days now that I’m in the bishopric and there’s an unspoken rule (actually, it’s often spoken) that facial hair is somehow a sign of apostacy. Indeed, a friend of mine saw my most recent attempt to grow a beard and suggested that I was the “evil Andrew.” My children think it makes me look older, and even a little bit scary. My wife tolerates it because she knows that it’s just temporary — if I don’t shave it by the time I conduct in sacrament meeting this Sunday, I’ll get lots of guff and teasing from ward members.

I’m not sure why facial hair is often seen as rebelliousness in the Church. Obviously, it’s a cultural thing.  Yes, hippies, hell’s angels and pirates all sport various forms of facial hair — but then, so did most of the early chuch presidents. And have you ever seen any depiction of the Savior WITHOUT a beard? It is NEVER done.

Oh well, it’s not like I have this burning desire to grow a beard. I just like to remind myself once a year that I can… 

andrews-beard.jpg

I know, I know. It’s not much of a beard, but it was fun while it lasted. Now where’s my Gillette Mach 3 Turbo…

 
6 Comments

Posted by on June 15, 2007 in Random Thoughts

 

6 responses to “Summer Beard Tradition

  1. liz

    June 16, 2007 at 2:19 pm

    I think Robin is very kind to tolerate this. I personally hate kissing hairy men.

     
  2. kira

    June 16, 2007 at 7:14 pm

    I have to say that beards ARE scratchy, but there are few things more sexy than Aaron and his rugged beard.

     
  3. robinbl

    June 16, 2007 at 9:24 pm

    As Andrew said, I only tolerate it because I know it’s only temporary. But, I must admit, a lot less kissing goes on when he’s hairy!

     
  4. Kelli Garner

    September 25, 2009 at 10:37 pm

    Thats very good to know… thanks

     
  5. Valerie

    March 4, 2010 at 12:45 am

    Funny story… I’m a student at BYU-I and I wanted to draw a picture of Christ. I googled Kind man with beard, and this photo of you came up. After reading a little about it, the pieces started coming together. If I draw a picture of Christ and he has some resemblance to you, I hope you do not mind 🙂

     
  6. Baura

    December 13, 2012 at 1:58 pm

    Your children think it makes you look scary? I’ve worn a beard since before my marriage. I once suggested to my children that I shave it off. They unanimously and resoundingly said “no!” The reason they gave was that if I shaved my beard off I would look “scary.”

     

Leave a Reply

 
