RSS

Dumb Lawnmower

20 Jun

Early this spring, I pulled out the lawnmower after a long winter’s rest and coaxed it into life again by pulling numerous times on its chord. Then I noticed that the drive portion of the mower wasn’t working anymore, which means I would actually have to push the thing. D’oh! So I took it into a shop and they said it would take at least three weeks for them to even look at it. Well, five weeks passed and they finally called to say that it was a broken belt and that I could now pick up my mower ($7.99 for the belt, $50 for labor). Within 45 minutes of getting it home, the belt broke again. Isn’t that fun? So last night, I had the fun of mowing extremely long lawn with a mower that won’t move under its own power… Needless to say, I was sweating pretty well when I finished.

lawn-mower.jpg

So now I have a decision to make. Call the repair shop and demand answers? Chalk it up to a lemon mower since this has happened before? Buy a new lawn mower? Or just suck it up and mow without the drive for the rest of the summer since I probably need the exercise anyway. What do you think?

 
3 Comments

Posted by on June 20, 2007 in Random Thoughts

 

3 responses to “Dumb Lawnmower

  1. liz

    June 20, 2007 at 2:00 pm

    I say you got a bum belt and they should fix it for free. No way it should break again that soon.

     
  2. Andrea L

    June 22, 2007 at 1:04 am

    I think you could invest in a cow–this could save you the troubles of a “dumb lawnmower” as well as save you time!! J/K 🙂 I’m in a silly mood. On a more serious note, I agree with Liz’s comment. Good luck!

     
  3. Ann Lawn

    September 14, 2009 at 8:52 pm

    Interesting.

    Times are a changing.

    I remember when you could still buy a Lawn Boy 2 cycle that made a cloud of blue smoke.

    Thanks for posting.

     

Leave a Reply

 
