RSS

Controlling Your Universe

25 Jun

So on Saturday night, I went to over Redbox at the McDonald’s near my home to pick up a movie. As I was browsing through the options, I saw the new Adam Sandler movie called “Click” and despite the little voice in my head telling me not to, I rented it anyway. I should have listened to that little voice. Call it my gut or simply the knowledge that my wife wouldn’t be too keen on it — I was foolish to ignore that nagging feeling born of past experience.

You see, I have seen four or five Adam Sandler movies in my life, and every time I have watched them, I have thought — “Wow, that movie sure had a lot of objectionable material.” Filled with casual swearing, crude sexual / potty humor and just pain stupid, over-the-top characters and situations, these films are what pass for comedy in today’s word. They’re not cleverly written or witty — it is simply low-brow humor for those who find flatulence hilarious or think that children swearing is funny. No thanks.

But for some inexplicable reason, I thought this movie would be different. Duh! It wasn’t. I was attracted to the basic premise (which I’ll discuss below) and it had an okay message about putting family first in your life (yadda, yadda, yadda), but it was unnecessarily peppered with vulgar references and embarrassing situations. It’s definitely not a movie I’d want to watch with my bishop! When it was over (and yes, I’m sorry to say I didn’t just turn it off and put in “The Testaments of One Fold and One Shepherd”), I resolved to avoid movies produced by Adam Sandler in the future.

Don’t take this as a confession of any grievous sin — it’s just an expression of frustration that I didn’t listen to my gut. As they say, “Those who do not learn from the mistakes of the past are bound to repeat them.”

We humans are so foolish sometimes. We know the consequences of our actions, but we often choose incorrectly nevertheless. My son Parley was complaining the other day that he didn’t want to wear sunscreen when we went swimming. Since my wife is so dutiful in protecting our little ones against the UV rays with SPF 30 sun block, Par has never really had a bad sunburn. I was tempted to just let him get fried so he could learn from the experience, but I didn’t. Interestingly though, even though I’ve been burned (literally) by this same mistake in the past, I have ignored my gut and gotten burned again. How lame! They say the definition insanity is doing the same thing over and over again and expecting a different result.

click.jpg

Anyway, back to the premise of “Click.” Adam Sandler’s character is given a universal remote control that can pause, rewind and fast forward his life. It also allows him to revisit different parts of his life through a menu screen, so he can see various episodes in his life (including his own birth) with perfect clarity. Now wouldn’t that be cool? With my hectic, busy life, I love the idea of having a remote control that would let me pause the rest of the world while I get caught up. Just think, you would never be late to anything again! If you were running behind, you could just put everyone on pause and get where you needed to go, or finish up the work you didn’t have time to do.

I also like the idea of an “Undo” button for life. Isn’t it great that if you make a mistake while typing, you can hit “Undo” and go back to various points of time in the past? Wouldn’t it be nice to have the capability in life? Have you ever said something unkind to someone and immediately wished you could recall it? In just about every argument I have had with Robin, I wish I could just go back to the beginning and use greater restraint. This would work well too for car accidents, personal injuries, careless words and stupid Adam Sandler movies that you wish you hadn’t watched!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on June 25, 2007 in Spirituality

 

2 responses to “Controlling Your Universe

  1. liz

    June 25, 2007 at 9:29 pm

    As much as we’d like to have this kind of control, I shudder to think about what most people would do with it. Think of all the stupid things we’d try if we knew we’d get a “do-over.” I haven’t seen this movie, and generally agree with you about Adam Sandler, but I have to say I loved him when I was a teenager and he was on Saturday Night Live. He used to sing really funny songs like “Red hooded sweatshirt” and play the guitar. The one movie of his that I would recommend seeing is “Spanglish.” It has some troubling moments, but none of them are gratuitous, and it’s extremely thought-provoking. Totally unlike his other movies.

     
  2. Andrew

    June 25, 2007 at 9:57 pm

    Yes, I agree with you. I used to really enjoy him on SNL as a teenager, and in general, find him to be quite funny. I’m still an SNL fan, though they often go too far. I’m trying to cut back…

    And Robin and I REALLY liked him in “Spanglish.” He actually acted in that movie, as opposed to playing the same character over and over again (loud, obnoxious and crude).

     

Leave a Reply

 
