RSS

I Want an iPhone!

27 Jun

Have you ever just wanted something — not because you really need it, but just it’s really cool? That’s where I am right now with the iPhone from Apple. It’s being released this Friday, June 29, and it looks SOOOO cool. I would LOVE to have one of these babies. It’s an awesome video iPod, a sweet cell phone with the ability to browse the internet and check email, not to mention the 2.0 megapixel digital camera in it!

 iphone.jpg

I mean look at it. It’s a thing of beauty. There are some awesome videos that demonstrate the incredible features of the iPhone on Apple’s website, and it makes me want one in the worst way. You see, my iPod Nano has died again (it came back to life briefly, but the battery is shorted out after spending 30 minutes in the washing machine). I do miss having my iPod, but admitedly, I CAN live without it. In addition, my cell phone has not been working very well lately and I’ve been hankering for a phone and PDA that I can use to surf the web and check email from wherever I am (althought that would further my somewhat unhealthy addiction to email, and now blogging).

I can think of lots of reasons why I it would be cool to have one — it’s just that the price is prohibitive right now. It’s $499 for a 4GB phone and $599 for an 8 GB phone. Yikes! Also, the cheapest plan from AT&T is $59.99 per month, which includes 450 anytime minutes, 5000 night and weekend minutes and unlimited data (website browsing, email, google maps, etc.) That would end up being about $10 more per month than I’m paying for two phones (Robin and mine).

Of course, my scheming mind thinks that maybe Robin doesn’t need a cell phone that much (she rarely uses it) and that maybe I could get her on a cheap, pre-paid plan for emergency calls. Still, the $500 for the phone plus activation fees and taxes is pretty tough to swallow, especially when I think of all the other things that I could do with that money (not to mention the fact that I don’t really have the money anyway!)

Perhaps I could find some things to sell around my house… anyone want a gently used treadmill? Or perhaps I could start selling my plasma. 🙂

 P.S. Here’s an update on an earlier post. My lawmower is back and the repair shop fixed it again for free. So I guess I won’t need to get any cows for my backyard, Andrea.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on June 27, 2007 in Technology

 

3 responses to “I Want an iPhone!

  1. kira

    June 27, 2007 at 8:24 pm

    why do they always have to come up with something cooler…and unfotunately more expensive.

     
  2. Vicki

    June 30, 2007 at 9:00 am

    This new Ipod sounds pretty amazing. Glad you got your lawnmower fixed without charge.

     
  3. liz

    July 2, 2007 at 10:46 pm

    Matt thinks they’re cool too, and of course, I said, absolutely not!

     

Leave a Reply

 
