RSS

Harry Potter Mania

29 Jun

Okay, okay, I have to admit that I’m counting down the days until the final Harry Potter book, “The Deathly Hallows.” Three weeks from tonight, I will be at a local bookstore to get my hands on a copy at midnight. I am quite excited about the movie as well, but I already know what happens in “The Order of the Phoenix,” while the “The Deathly Hallows” will take us into uncharted territory. Plus, it will be the end of the series, where many questions will be answered (hopefully).

I have to admit that I check the Harry Potter fan websites a couple of times a week when I have a spare minute, and my desktop wallpaper came from the Harry Potter movie site.

desktop.jpg

I even found the cover artwork for the British version of the book, which shows Ron, Harry and Hermione in a room full of jewels with, presumably, Dobby on Harry’s back. (I’m nerdy, aren’t I?)

 harry.jpg

For me, July will be Harry Potter month. I know, it’s just a book/movie, but it’s so much fun. I’m stoked because I finish my last class on July 19, just in time to ditch the textbooks and dive into the world of J.K. Rowling for one last time…

Here’s what I think will happen:

  • Harry will find the horcruxes with the help of Ron and Hermione
  • He will face Voldemort and will vanquish him (perhaps not kill him, but remove him as a threat)
  • Severus Snape will be vindicated as a good guy, but will die in an effort to save Harry’s life
  • A couple of important characters will die — I’m guessing possibly Hagrid and Mr. Weasley?

I’m not sure how Rowling is going to wrap up all the loose ends satisfactorily in 784 pages, but I intend to relish each one.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on June 29, 2007 in Popular Culture

 

6 responses to “Harry Potter Mania

  1. Vicki

    June 30, 2007 at 8:57 am

    I’m very excited about the new book too! I wonder if your predictions are correct.

     
  2. Stan

    June 30, 2007 at 4:43 pm

    I too am very excited about the new book and the see the Order of the Phoenix. Harry Potter has truly made me feel like I did as a kid, when I loved to read books and couldn’t wait for the new book of my favorite authors. Life get’s so crazy sometime, that you stop reading for pleasure. I am interested is seeing if your prediction are right.

     
  3. robinbl

    July 1, 2007 at 3:37 pm

    I’ve already told you I agree that Snape will die. I also think that Neville Longbottom will either die or do something of great importance. We’re either going to have to get two copies of the book or come up with a timeshare plan, because otherwise we migh be fighting over it (I get it from 8-5, you get it at night?)

     
  4. liz

    July 2, 2007 at 10:48 pm

    I love Harry Potter too, but I have to say, I hope all of his insane fans are reading other things too. I know you are, Andrew. I think this series is fun and will probably stand the test of time, but it’s not Shakespeare, now, is it?

     
  5. Andrew

    July 3, 2007 at 4:47 pm

    No, Liz, it’s not Shakespeare, but at least I can understand J.K. Rowling easily without having to scratch my head and think, “now what’s going on here again?”

    I agree with Robin that the deaths in this book will need to be meaningful; therefore Snape and Neville are good candidates. I think Neville is the one about whom Trewlawny’s prophecy was made, and so he may not survive.

    The 5th movie is coming out in just over one week. I’m excited to see it, but have to admit that “Phoenix” was probably my least favorite of the books. It was too dark, frustrating and Harry was too cranky (as most 15-year-olds are).

     
  6. credit card debt services

    December 9, 2009 at 5:34 pm

    The movie trailor is incredible. This film is going to be amazing. I cannot wait.

     

Leave a Reply

 
