RSS

Order of the Phoenix is Excellent

11 Jul

Okay, I’m kind of embarassed to admit this, but I played “hookey” from work today and went to see the new Harry Potter movie. I had a professional seminar at a hotel downtown and after it was over, I didn’t want to have to go all the way back to my office before coming up to the U for class. I had a couple of hours and the thought struck me: “Why don’t I see when Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix is playing next.” The next thing I knew, I was buying a ticket to it on the cool computer kiosks at the Megaplex theaters at the Gateway. Am I glad I did it? Oh yes! It was incredible. I loved it.

order1.jpg

As I mentioned in an earlier post, I have been anticipating the 7th book much more than the 5th movie because it’s new material and the 5th book was my least favorite. (I thought it was a bit too long and Harry was too cranky — having said that I still enjoyed that book very much.) Anyway, the movie was a crisp 2 hours and 18 minutes, and I thouroughly enjoyed every bit of it.

The acting was very good (except for Malfoy, but he’s never been very good, too much of a caricature) and the Luna Lovegood and Dolores Umbridge characters were excellent. Umbridge is the woman you love to hate and the actress who played her was fabulous.

My favorite scenes were Fred and George setting off fireworks and ditching school, a very funny scene with Filch trying to catch the “D.A.” entering the Room of Requirements, and the final battle scene at the Ministry of Magic.

I would have liked to have seen more of the actual “Order of the Phoenix” and a few other things that were in the book, but I understand the need to not include everything for the sake of good movie storytelling.

While not perfect, I recommend the movie to Potter-lovers. It met all my expectations and was a real visual treat.

The only bad part was having to admit to my wife afterwards that I’d seen it without her… 🙂 

 
4 Comments

Posted by on July 11, 2007 in Popular Culture

 

4 responses to “Order of the Phoenix is Excellent

  1. Andrea L

    July 12, 2007 at 2:17 am

    Dan and I saw the new Harry Potter movie last night! I must say this is a first for me–going to a movie on the opening night. We enjoyed it too! It felt like they left a lot of details out, but I also understand that they can’t include everything in the movie.

     
  2. Andrea L

    July 12, 2007 at 2:50 am

    This is Dan. Thanks for the review. I’m shocked and amazed that I actually saw Harry Potter before you! I saw it last night (July 10th) at 6:00 pm with other VIPs–like Andrea and some people in our ward. The movie was great–even for a guy like me who has only read some of the books (and not in order)!

     
  3. robinbl

    July 12, 2007 at 4:11 pm

    I am a little ticked off that you went without me, but I suppose with our busy week ahead, it actually works out okay, if I can go see it with Parley after cub scout camp!

     
  4. Vicki

    July 16, 2007 at 4:51 am

    I was pretty jealous of you up at East Canyon–because you’d seen the movie and I hadn’t. I liked your review and can’t wait to see the show tomorrow.

     

Leave a Reply

 
