RSS

Video iPods are Way Cool

19 Jul

Okay, so in previous blogs I have lamented the loss of my iPod Nano in the washing machine, and I have drooled over the iPhone but decided that it was just too expensive and that despite the way cool features, I just couldn’t justify the monthly service charges.

This week, I found a great solution. A young man in my ward offered to sell me a video iPod that he got from a pawn shop. A new one costs upwards of $300 and he sold it to me for a mere $80, and this 30 GB beauty is in excellent condition.

video-ipod1.jpg

How did I justify the purchase? Well, I’ve really missed using my iPod in various situations, and I’ve been looking for a replacement. I thought about buying a used 1 GB iPod Nano from a co-worker for $75, but I’m glad I held out. This thing stores 30 GB of data. Right now I have 3,500 audio files and 5,200 pictures, along with some videos that I have saved there. I’m still trying to figure out how to transfer a couple of my favorite DVDs to the device, but I did buy a TV eposide on iTunes and it played beautifully.

I got a little money from my mom for my MBA graduation (last class tonight) and so I figured I would splurge. Oh electronic devices, how I love you! May you continue to get smaller, more powerful and more useful with each passing year.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on July 19, 2007 in Technology

 

4 responses to “Video iPods are Way Cool

  1. kira

    July 19, 2007 at 5:42 pm

    I’m sure Robin will enjoy jammin’ to some ipod tunes whilst she redecorated you house while she is in her nesting phase. I’m still wondering when you watch DVDs on you ipod?

     
  2. robinbl

    July 20, 2007 at 1:21 am

    I have to admit, I was skeptical about anyone wanting to watch TV or a movie on such a small screen. But after watching it last night, I found that it wasn’t really a problem. It would be nice to have on a trip or out camping somewhere.

     
  3. Andrea L

    July 20, 2007 at 4:03 am

    Congrats on finishing your MBA!! You sure got a great deal on your video iPod!

     
  4. Vicki

    July 21, 2007 at 1:41 am

    It tickles me the way yo love technology–just like your Dad! I’m so glad you were able to get that new video ipod!

     

Leave a Reply

 
