RSS

Harry Potter Rocks!

23 Jul

Okay, so I finally got my hands on the seventh Harry Potter book. First, let me say that I’m not going to give away any spoilers here because I think that it’s much more fun for people to discover the secrets on their own. Having said that, let me give you a few general impressions.

I have to say I was totally satisfied with the way J.K. Rowling wrote this book. For one last time, I was able to visit many of the locations and recall many of the characters of the previous books. The plot was action-packed and full of twists and turns. Also, it was so nice to finally get closure on so many of the mysteries of the series with plenty of needed explanation (although I have to admit that I had to read a few parts a couple of times to make sure I got it).

Overall, I really loved the book and devoured it over a 48-hour period. It took me about 16 hours to get through nearly 800 pages at a rate of 50 per pages per hour since I was savoring it.

harrypotter_bookcover.jpg

Anyway, I was so excited for this book, I decided to go to one of those midnight parties at Barnes and Noble to see what it was like. Just for fun, I grabbed Parley’s wizard hat and my MBA graduation robe (I know, I’m a nerd) and drove over to the bookstore. I donned the “costume” and felt utterly ridiculous even though there were other people dressed up as well. I just kept thinking… “What am I doing here?”  and “I hope no one I know sees me.” (I guess I’m a Muggle after all.)

The parking lot was completely full as I walked into the packed store. Inside, I saw little children dressed up as Gryffindors, an old man dressed as Mad-Eye Moody and several women with colorful hair dressed as Tonks. Even with the others dressed up, I felt foolish in my Potter garb, but I’m glad I had the experience of seeing how other people acted in the situation. Anyway, I didn’t stay long because I had intended to buy my copy at Wal-Mart down the street (cheaper, you know.)

When I arrived at Wal-Mart, the parking lot was full there too.  I decided not to wear the costume this time since I had already felt silly at Barne and Noble. As I entered the store, I saw a huge line that wrapped around the store. Just after midnight there were screams of delight as the several pallets full of books were uncovered. Once I had bought mine, I raced home and began to read. I read unill 2:30 and went to bed. Then I woke at 6:30 and resumed reading for blocks of time throughout the day on Saturday. I finished it at our condo in Bear Lake last night. What a great way to celebrate the end of my MBA — a great book and a trip to Bear Lake with my family…

Thanks to J.K. Rowling for creating this magical world that so many have enjoyed for the past 10 years!

 
3 Comments

Posted by on July 23, 2007 in Popular Culture

 

3 responses to “Harry Potter Rocks!

  1. kira

    July 25, 2007 at 6:45 pm

    We really loved it! I can’t wait to read it again (I’ll give myself a little break first) and just enjoy the cool story instead of rushing to find out what happens.

     
  2. Vicki

    July 28, 2007 at 7:41 pm

    I can just picture you at the HP party in your robe and hat–what fun! Your comments about the book were delightful.

     

Leave a Reply

 
