RSS

Harry Potter Questions Revealed

30 Jul

Despite the fact that the final Harry Potter book answered many questions, fans have been clamoring for more answers about the book series and its beloved characters. I am one of those fans.

So today, I came across a web chat between J.K. Rowling and her fans the other day. The transcript gives some great insights into what happens to these fictional people (at least in Rowling’s mind). Click here to read it. It’s a bit long, but for serious fans, I think you’ll find it worth your time. You may also be interested in a transcript from an interview on Dateline NBC that aired last night in a one hour special. 

harrypotterfeatly.jpg

By the way, this picture is from the cover of the UK version of the 7th book. It’s obviously Ron, Harry and Hermione in the LeStrange’s vault at Gringotts with the goblin Griphook just behind Harry holding the ruby-handled sword of Gryffindor. The sores on the trio are from the red hot treasure that has been cursed to protect the Hufflepuff cup (which was a horcrux.

By the way, for those who have already read the book (or for those who are too lazy to read it) and want a succinct synopsis including major plot developments as well as a list of the horcruxes and how they were destroyed, go to Wikipedia, the online encylopedia.

Even though the last book has finally been released, I still have Potter-related things to look forward to. In just a few short weeks, I’m going to listen to the book on tape once my libary hold comes in. (I’m too cheap to buy the audio book, but I LOVE the reader Jim Dale.) In December 2008, the 6th movie comes out, in 2009 the theme park opens in Orlando and in the summer of 2010, the 7th movie will be released. So I have something “Potter” to look forward to for at least the next three years, not to mention the possible encyclopedia on the world of Harry Potter that Rowling may write in the future…

Okay, Andrew, now get back to work.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on July 30, 2007 in Popular Culture

 

4 responses to “Harry Potter Questions Revealed

  1. kira

    July 31, 2007 at 2:51 am

    it is a long article…but I agree to a true fan it is totally worth it! I’ve been meaning to start looking for stuff like this on the fan websites and I just haven’t gotten around to it – thanks for doing all the work for me!

     
  2. Andrea L

    July 31, 2007 at 3:51 am

    It’s fun to finally be able to join in the discussions about the 7th book! I’m looking forward to reading the transcript.

     
  3. Vicki

    July 31, 2007 at 3:56 pm

    I’m going to check out that info too–especially the synopsis of the 7th book. What a joy Harry Potter has been and will continue to be with the 2 movies still to come.

     
  4. robinbl

    July 31, 2007 at 7:42 pm

    After having read that transcript, I have to admit I wonder how much of that stuff she actually hadn’t planned in advance, but had to come up with on the spot when somebody asked a question. Just a bit here and there, I’m sure, but not even the author can think of everything!

     

Leave a Reply

 
