RSS

Top Five Things I Won’t Miss About Scout Camp

30 Jul

Well, I’m back on the blog after almost one week off. During the past week, I’ve been out of touch because I had the privilege of spending my precious vacation time with 9 boys at scout camp on the shore of Bear Lake. I like to call it “consecrated vacation time” since it is vacation time spent with other people’s children instead of my own.

I arrived at the camp Tuesday afternoon after a quick trip to the area with my family and spent the rest of the week camping on the east shore of Bear Lake, helping the boys earn their merit badges and trying to do some teaching and interject some spirituality in fireside chats each evening. Our group also spent a great deal of time swimming, playing ultimate frisbee and boating in the beautiful blue water of the lake, which is often called the “Caribbean of the Rockies.” Overall, we had a great time and I’m glad I participated in the camp —  I developed much stronger relationships with the boys and the other adult leaders as we bonded through our shared experiences during our time together. 

However, here are a few things I won’t miss:

  • Sleeping on the ground for four consecutive nights in a tent with a snoring scoutmaster (thank goodness for my iPod which helped block out that noise).
  • Having to regularly nag and follow up with 12 year olds to get to their classes and to be nice to each other.
  • Eating fairly simple, easy-to-prepare food like macaroni and cheese and hot dogs with virtually no vegetables or fruit. (I gained as much as four pounds over the week since we were eating so many carbs, and I had little control over what I go to eat.)
  • Enduring the overwhelmingly pungent smell of the latrine, also known as the “K.Y.B.O.” which apparently stands for “Keep Your Bowels Open.”
  • Not having access to email, internet, blogs, financial data, etc. (I know, I’m an internet addict.)

For the most part, it was a relaxing week and a fairly nice way to start my post-MBA life… several days of very little to worry about, no homework, no work-work and a lot of time sitting on a camp chair with the sweet smell of sagebrush carried on the lake breeze while contemplating the mysteries of the universe – or at least the mysteries of the 12-year-old mind.

bear-lake.jpg

 
2 Comments

Posted by on July 30, 2007 in Uncategorized

 

2 responses to “Top Five Things I Won’t Miss About Scout Camp

  1. robinbl

    July 30, 2007 at 3:55 pm

    Welcome back, honey. I’ve missed our electronic communications!

     
  2. Vicki

    July 31, 2007 at 3:54 pm

    Oh the joys of scout camp. I’m impressed that you would spend your vacation days at scout camp. That really shows commitment and dedication. Love the photo too.

     

Leave a Reply

 
