RSS

The Bear Lake Monster

01 Aug

During the last week in July, Robin and I drove our kids up to Bear Lake on the Utah-Idaho border for a couple of days of rest and relaxation before I headed over to summer camp on the East side of the lake. We arrived at the WorldMark condo Sunday afternoon, July 22, and spent the next 48 hours together swimming in the pools, playing on two different beaches, canoeing, creating sand sculptures, hiking and exploring Minnetonka Cave. We had a great time together on this last trip before the kids went back to school.

bearlake_ov_1b.jpg

On the way up to our 48-hour vacation prior to going to scout camp, I told the children the story of the Bear Lake Monster. Of course, I didn’t really know the legend, so I made most of it up. By the time we got there, I was surprised that the kids actually still wanted to go into the water. The kraken-like creation from my imagination had some serious conflicts with the Indians and pioneers (all fabricated, of course) but it kept them quiet for a while in the car. If you want to read an interesting article on the subject, click here.

 bear_lake_monster.jpg

I’ve always been intrigued by folklore and legend, especially things that seem to keep popping up like Bigfoot, alien abductions, haunted houses and large sea creatures. Naturally, I am exceedingly skeptical about these things, but I’m still intrigued by them, particularly the human psychology and archetypal underpinnings involved. What do you think?

 
4 Comments

Posted by on August 1, 2007 in Popular Culture

 

4 responses to “The Bear Lake Monster

  1. robinbl

    August 1, 2007 at 3:38 pm

    My favorite bit we read about the Bear Lake monster is that it lives in underwater caves on the east shore that are connected underground to Loch Ness, and the the BL monster and Nessie are the same creature–it just migrates back and forth between the two lakes from time to time.

    Seriously, though, and I know Andrew kind of laughs at me for this, I’m of the belief that there is a possiblity of creatures existing in the wild that we have not scientifically documented yet. I wouldn’t say that I’m a firm believer in any of these legends, nor would I go to any great lengths to search for them myself, but I don’t discount the possibility that there is some bit of truth to them. Besides, isn’t it more fun to believe in the mystery?

     
  2. kira

    August 1, 2007 at 7:55 pm

    I’m not really sure I have a solid opinion. I am however excited about Bear Lake 2008. Hopefully we’ll be able to come for some of it. We don’t really know what Aaron’s class schedule/work will be like…we’ll cross our fingers though.

     
  3. liz

    August 2, 2007 at 2:49 pm

    I didn’t know there was a Bear Lake monster — that article definitely makes it seem made-up, though. I kind of agree with Robin that there are things we have not yet discovered — I wouldn’t be surprised at all if there really was something in the Loch Ness, nor would I be surprised if we someday discover a new organism that looks a little like bigfoot. Does that make me a nut job? Does anyone ever listen to “Coast to Coast”? It’s the radio job for all things nutty and conspiratorial (AM570 late at night). Pretty wacky.

     
  4. Vicki

    August 3, 2007 at 6:04 am

    I would like to hear your version of the Bear Lake Monster legend–I’ll bet it’s better than the original.

     

Leave a Reply

 
