RSS

Meadowlarks Finally Stop Singing

13 Aug

Tonight was my official last performance as Helaman Harringtonin in Are the Meadowlarks Still Singing? and I approach this with a mixture of sadness and satisfaction. I have loved this show since I first started doing it back in 1991 at the old Hale Theater location in South Salt Lake. In total, I have done the show for seven years — two years before my mission as Paul, three years as Heley after my mission at the theater in Orem, and after a five year break, another two years as Heley at the theater in West Valley. What a blessing it has been for me! My testimony has grown as I’ve shared the message of the restoration with thousands of audience members over the years in well over 100 performances.

 meadowlarks-cast-001.jpg

Through the years, many friends and family have come to the show for which I am extremely grateful. Two families from my ward came to my final performance, which meant a lot to me. And, of course, my greatest fan was there — my mom Vicki –who came to the majority of my performances over the past two years. She has always been so supportive, and even though she’s see it so often she practically has the play memorized, she still came often, would laugh in all the right places and would be lavish in her praise of my performance after each show. What a great support and blessing she is! I’m lucky to have her.

Anyway, I am grateful for the opportunity I’ve had to be a part of the show. I can honestly say that I’ve felt the spirit EVERY time I have born testimony as the character Heley. And I want to repeat it again to you. I know the gospel of Jesus Christ as restored through the Prophet Joseph Smith is true. I love it and I feel blessed to have it in my life.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on August 13, 2007 in Music / Theater, Spirituality

 

2 responses to “Meadowlarks Finally Stop Singing

  1. robinbl

    August 13, 2007 at 10:49 pm

    We all know that in about ten years you’ll be playing the minister…in the meantime, sigh…there go the free season tickets!

     
  2. Vicki

    August 15, 2007 at 3:59 am

    I’ve loved every performance and I always feel the Spirit too, as you teach the minister’s family the Gospel. You’ve done a fantastic job and I’m always so proud of you!!

     

Leave a Reply

 
