RSS

Jogging 2,000 Miles

28 Aug

This morning as I was jogging, I began to think about what I could blog about next. (It’s funny how your mindset changes when you have a blog — you start to approach life’s experiences with a new perspective, i.e. what part of this experience would make for an interesting column.) Anyway, as I jogged around the neighborhood, I decided to blog about jogging. Fascinating subject, I know.

running.jpg

I have been jogging with Buddy nearly every morning now for about three years. If you take into account vacations and occasional laziness or distractions, we still average about 5 days per week and about 2.5 miles per day. Add in slightly longer runs on the weekend, and we average about 13 miles per week. That means that during the course of a year (52 weeks) we jog 676 miles, about the distance from my house in Riverton to Mesquite, Nevada and back again. If you add up all the miles we’ve logged over three years, it’s over 2,000 miles of jogging — almost enough miles for me to jog from Riverton to my brother Nate’s apartment in Tallahassee, Florida. I feel kind of like Forrest Gump (“Run, Forrest, run!”) and have spent just under 400 hours of my life running over the past three years.

Now that I have the numbers out of the way (I was calculating them while jogging this morning), I will briefly describe why I enjoy it.

First, jogging outside is MUCH better than working out in a gym, where you have to deal with smelly socks and rubber- mat odor, along with big burley guys that make you feel like a wimp while you watch them work out. It’s also MUCH better than running on a treadmill where the scenery never changes and the only thing that makes it bearable is watching TV while you do it. Jogging is great because you can enjoy the wind in your hair, see the world around you and explore new areas. And when you’re done, you are are covered with sweat and you feel great!

When is jogging not so great, you may ask? Well, it’s really hard in the dead of winter when I have to wear gloves, a hat and a fleece jacket. It’s also unpleasant in hot weather, like last week when I tried to jog around the hotel in Orlando. It was so hot and humid, I thought I was in a sauna. Not fun! But overall, I really enjoy it. It’s become a habit to me — almost an addiction that I cannot give up. My dog LOVES it and I love it too. I just hope my joints don’t give out on me and reward all my efforts with the need for knee-replacement surgery… 🙂

 P.S. I’ve been on my diet again for five days, and have dropped from 196 to 189 — mostly water weight, but still very encouraging.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on August 28, 2007 in Uncategorized

 

4 responses to “Jogging 2,000 Miles

  1. kira

    August 28, 2007 at 9:06 pm

    Aaron was wondering if you are doing the Atkins diet again? Do you think your dog or your knees will give out first??? 😛

     
  2. Andrew

    August 28, 2007 at 9:38 pm

    Yes, it’s a carb-restricted diet. And yes, I know I should do weighlifting, I just really don’t like it… I wish I did.

    I’ve thought about doing a marathon, but that would require a lot of time and energy, and I’m not sure whether I would be able to do it. A good goal though…

    As for Buddy, he’s got at least another 10 years in him and my knees have at least another 30 years in them!!

     
  3. robinbl

    August 29, 2007 at 4:19 pm

    I don’t know about Andrew, but that dog needs to run. If Andrew doesn’t take him jogging, he is really annoying and needy all day, begging me to play with him. Anybody know where I can get an automatic ball or frisbee throwing machine?

     
  4. Vicki

    August 31, 2007 at 3:21 am

    I think that’s pretty cool that you’ve been so consistent at jogging. Reading your description makes it sound so fun–and healthy too!

     

Leave a Reply

 
