RSS

Video Editing: A Love-Hate Relationship

06 Sep

Recently I have taken on a few video projects to make a little extra money. My cousin Cami’s husband Todd brought me a set of 15 home video tapes dating back to 1992, and asked me to transfer them to DVD. In addition, Elizabeth’s mother, Rosanne, asked me to do the same for five of her old tapes. Sounded like a simple project to make a little extra cash to pay for all the baby necessities, right? Well, all was not so simple.

studio9.jpg

I recently finished uploading all the video to my hard drive and began to edit the videos, adding chapters and interactive DVD menu screens using my Pinnacle Studio video editing software. All was going well, until I started actually burning the DVDs over the past couple of days. Since then, I’ve had nothing but trouble. The DVDs turn out to have major chapter authoring problems or simply do not burn at all. It is so aggravating because it’s almost impossible to troubleshoot. I’ve spend plenty of hours over the past few years reading the customer support materials and user group exchanges on the web, and have found some workarounds, but it’s painful and time-consuming.

I love my software when it works properly, but I hate it when it doesn’t, which is quite often. Last year, I got so fed up, I bought a new video editing software program, Adobe Premier Elements, but since it’s new to me, requires effort to learn and doesn’t have all the same features I’m used to, I haven’t used it much.

What’s funny is that the Pinnacle Studio 9 software sometimes works like a charm. It just seems kind of moody. A few months ago, I had no trouble converting over my neighbor’s tapes to DVD. But this time, it’s not wanting to cooperate. Besides the frustration, I end up spending so much time on these projects, that I can’t make it worth my time. I am giving current clients very good deals — however, by the time I factor in all the time and aggravation, I will practically be working for minimum wage.

This morning, as I offered our family prayer, I prayed: “Please bless my videos to compile on the DVDs properly; and bless me with the wisdom to never accept another one of these DVD-transfer projects again.”

 
4 Comments

Posted by on September 6, 2007 in Technology

 

4 responses to “Video Editing: A Love-Hate Relationship

  1. kira

    September 6, 2007 at 9:40 pm

    I’d say you have enough on your plate without editing projects!

     
  2. liz

    September 7, 2007 at 3:10 pm

    I’m so sorry. I’ve always wondered why you ever find projects like that fun — even on a good day, I would find that kind of stuff trying. I can’t imagine how frustrating it must be when the software isn’t doing what it’s supposed to do.

     
  3. robinbl

    September 7, 2007 at 4:49 pm

    It’s too bad that something that starts out enjoyable can turn into such a source of frustration. Especially since the biggest problem comes at the end, after you’ve already put in all the work, so that you can’t pull up the final product. Ah, technology–such a blessing, and such a curse.

     
  4. Vicki

    September 11, 2007 at 4:25 am

    I’m so sorry for the trouble you’ve had. I can just imagine how aggravating that is. Good luck finishing up those projects.

     

Leave a Reply

 
