RSS

Blogging Thoughts and the Return of Indy

14 Sep

Over the past three months of blogging, I have often wondered about why we bloggers feel the need to put our thoughts out into cyberspace for public consumption. First, we’re not sure who is reading our ramblings (if anyone). Second, if someone we know is reading our thoughts, can we honestly say what we are thinking without fear of potentially giving unintended offense. I recently removed a couple of my more “negative” blogs due to concerns that my meaning may be misconstrued. After all, blogging is completely devoid of voice inflections and non-verbal aspects of communication, so like email, it is easy to have one’s message not understood the way it was intended.

I’ve occasionally thought that it would be nice to have a totally anonymous blog where you can just say whatever thinking without concern for who might be reading it. Oh wait, I think that’s called a journal. 🙂 Even then, however, I’m often thinking about how my descendents may someday be reading it and will judge me by my “weakness in writing” and my less-than-perfect perspectives. I just can’t win! 😦

Anyway, in a TOTALLY unrelated subject, I just read up on the newest Indiana Jones movie, which is coming out next May. It’s called Indiana Jones and the  Kingdom of the Crystal Skull. Sounds like a goofy title to me, but that’s not unlike George Lucas who brought us such B-movie-sounding titles like “The Phantom Menace” and “Attack of the Clones.” Oh, and George, if you’re reading this, please don’t be offended. I’m excited to see your new Indiana Jones movie. I’m sure it’s going to be great!

indy_4_paulshipperrv8.jpg

 
3 Comments

Posted by on September 14, 2007 in Popular Culture, Random Thoughts

 

3 responses to “Blogging Thoughts and the Return of Indy

  1. robinbl

    September 14, 2007 at 5:16 pm

    I am excited about the Indy film, however, I don’t want to get my hopes up too far in case we have another Star Wars episode 3 on our hands. Of course, I think with the whole team of Lucas, Spielberg and Ford on hand, they ought to be able to pull it off. It’s funny to think of M. Night Shamalyan writing the sequel (check out that link)–I wonder what sort of twist would be involved at the end of that show! Of course, I wonder–will they just ignore the issue of Indy drinking from Holy Grail and therefore having eternal life? Obviously, he will at least have to have aged somewhat, seeing as how H. Ford doesn’t have eternal life (not that we know of, anyway!).

     
  2. kira

    September 14, 2007 at 5:27 pm

    I’m not one to have huge expectations about how the film will be. Harrison Ford is classic. I’m betting even if it is a little lame – I’ll like it!

     
  3. Vicki

    September 20, 2007 at 4:17 am

    It will be great to see another Indiana Jones movie–what nostalgia.

     

Leave a Reply

 
