RSS

Half-blood Prince Begins Filming Today

17 Sep

Okay, it’s been a while since I blogged about Harry Potter. Indeed, the Harry Potter frenzy of July has died down (thankfully) and I can focus on reality once again! However, I did want to mention a few things.

I just finished listening to the audio recording of Book 7, and I have to say I enjoyed it the second time even more than the first time. I think that’s because I was consuming it at a more leisurely pace than when it first came out and I finished it within the first 48 hours of its release. I also REALLY enjoyed the performance of Jim Dale, the voice of the Harry Potter series on tape. I actually got the book on CD from the library and ripped all 17 disks to my iPod. Then I gave the CDs to my sister Amy to enjoy. I listened to the book while cleaning the house, mowing the lawn and jogging, and finished the book with a great sense of satisfaction. Once I finished, I deleted the audio files so as not to infringe on copyright. 🙂

Here are a couple of other bits of information I thought I’d share. According to the fan websites, the “Half-blood Prince” begins filming today (Monday, September 17). And who’s playing the part of Horrace Slughorn? His name is Jim Broadbent. He’s most famous for his role as Harold Zilder on Moulin Rouge and the Professor on the Chronicles of Narnia. He’s also in the new Indiana Jones movie (see my post below).

jim-broadbent.jpg

Anyway, I think he’ll be perfect in this movie, which is set to release on November 21, 2008. It will just add to the success of the Harry Potter phenomenon. Aside from the amazing success of the books, the Harry Potter film franchise has now become the most successful film franchise of all time, eclipsing the box office totals of all 21 Bond films and the six “Star Wars” movies. It has taken in more than $4.47 billion in ticket sales worldwide — simply amazing. Click here to read an article about it. I do think I’m going to take a break and enjoy the multitude of other good books and podcasts (the subject of a post in the near future.)

 
3 Comments

Posted by on September 17, 2007 in Popular Culture

 

3 responses to “Half-blood Prince Begins Filming Today

  1. kira

    September 18, 2007 at 2:35 pm

    I’m excited to read #7 again. I’m kinda glad the movies are continuing to come out. It makes the pain of having the last book come out a little bit easier.

     
  2. Vicki

    September 20, 2007 at 4:14 am

    Maybe I’ll get on the list at the library for Harry Potter # 7. In some ways I enjoy listening to the tapes more than reading the book. You’ve inspired me.

     
  3. Sherin e

    September 25, 2007 at 4:43 pm

    Hey andrew!! I just got your email about the hillcrest website..thanks

     

Leave a Reply

 
