RSS

Keeping in Touch in Cyberspace

25 Sep

This morning I renewed the subscription to the website I created for the Hillcrest High School Class of 1993. As I paid the $30 annual renewal fee, I wondered whether it was worth the investment because not many people have been using the site lately. Why the low visitation? Because not very many people visit the site! What I mean is, those who would be regular visitors don’t return often to the site since nothing is new. It’s like a blog that is never updated — after a while, you just stop going there because you have no reason to do so.

If I could just get people to start posting stuff, things would be better. This morning, I sent an email to all of the members on the site, encouraging them to post something — an update, a picture, SOMETHING! My hope is to change the vicious cycle into a virtuous cycle, one that feeds off itself in a positive way. I want the site to be a place where people connect with old friends online and share their thoughts and ideas. Hosted by My Family.com, the site offers password protected logins to keep the contact data of its users private. It also offers up to 1 GB of storage, which is plenty of space. The thing that I like most about the site is that ANY site member can post pictures, comments and even videos. So why don’t people use it more?

Well, I think the question is whether people really want to keep in touch with their former classmates from so many years ago. Do they really care? Aren’t they already keeping in touch with the people they really care about anyway? Is this website relevant to their lives today? Isn’t a reunion every 10 years sufficient? All good questions.

We mainly established the site as a way to keep contact information current for future class reunions. But I had hoped that it would be something more, not because I am living in the past (heaven knows I don’t have time for that), but because I value human relationships above everything else in my life. I know that the only thing that will go with me when I die is the memory of all my relationships and the experiences that made me who I am.

So what do you think? Is it a lost cause? I can’t even get my family to post anything on our family website! Thankfully, my wife and sisters in law all post a couple of times a week on their blogs, so that’s just as good!

 
4 Comments

Posted by on September 25, 2007 in Uncategorized

 

4 responses to “Keeping in Touch in Cyberspace

  1. robinbl

    September 25, 2007 at 9:19 pm

    I think it really comes down to the fact that you stay in touch with those you are most interested in staying in touch with. You might think about your acquaintances from high school from time to time, and might be interested in catching up with them every so often, but it’s not like a constant thing. Most of us have enough people close to us that we want to keep informed about our life–relatives, close friends, co-workers–that we just don’t have time to think about those people we used to hang out with fifteen years ago but never see anymore. Maybe an annual or semi-annual reminder would be a nice idea, but to expect people to remember to update their stuff more often is probably unrealistic.

     
  2. liz

    September 26, 2007 at 12:22 am

    I agree with Robin about keeping in touch with those you really want to keep in touch with. Matt and I were just talking about how the era of reunions seems to be ending. People are so mobile and lives so complicated, people just don’t have time to meet with their entire mission every month any more!

     
  3. Vicki

    September 26, 2007 at 6:28 am

    Andrew, you are such a people person! I liked your comment that relationships are of utmost importance to you. Thank you for keeping in touch with me–it means a lot!!

     
  4. kira

    September 26, 2007 at 4:10 pm

    if you never see someone I think your lives start going in different directions. It is hard to have a relationship that is lackng in shared activities. Even good friends from high school are hard to keep up with unless you regularly see / talk to them on the phone. Otherwise it starts to get a little lame. How many times can you say…your kids are so cute – without it starting to sound stupid?

     

Leave a Reply

 
