RSS

Singing at Christmas

28 Dec

musicnotes.jpg

Music is my favorite part of Christmas. I love singing carols and performing for people. Ever since my parents took us to sing at rest homes and for ward Christmas parties, I have felt that the season would be incomplete having the chance to brighten someone’s day by presenting music. In the early 90’s, I sang and acted in Hale Center Theater’s “A Christmas Carol.” For the past five years, my singing group Harmonix has performed at ward parties and sacrament meetings, as well as at the Little America Hotel. Robin and I have collaborated on writing three Christmas sacrament meeting programs in our ward over the past few years, and I’ve sung with the choir for many years. Needless to say, I just love performing Christmas music. It’s a real joy!

Last year and this year, as a bishopric we went caroling to all the homes in  our ward boundaries. We ring the doorbell, sing a carol, hand the resident a card, wish them a Merry Christmas and then we go on our way. It’s funny to see the looks on people’s faces — some are delighted, some are a little uncomfortable (i.e. “what are these three unfamiliar men doing singing to me on my doorstep”) but very few refuse to open the door. We had one man who cut us off right at “Let earth receive…” and said he’d prefer not to listen. At another home, someone peeked through the window shades but never answered the door. Other than that, everyone opened the door and listened to our Christmas carol. It was a wonderful way to share the spirit of the season. It took us about six hours (spread over three sessions on three separate days) to get to everyone, but it was well worth the time. I love spreading Christmas cheer. What other time could you have three grown men sing on people’s front porches and not be viewed as complete lunatics?!

Sadly, on the morning of Christmas Eve, I woke up with a pretty serious case of laryngitis and couldn’t sing a note until two days after Christmas. Oh well, I’ve had plenty of opportunities to sing this season. And I’m not done yet. My friends and I are singing in a sacrament meeting on Sunday, as well as at “First Night” on Monday at the Joseph Smith Memorial Building at 8:15. We’re really excited to do our show in that incredible venue.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on December 28, 2007 in Uncategorized

 

One response to “Singing at Christmas

  1. Shannon

    December 29, 2007 at 4:48 pm

    I won’t lie, PRESENTS are my favorite part of Christmas. Presents and heated political debates about illegal immigration. I’ll never forget the Christmas I made my mother in law cry. I’m getting nothing but coal next year for sure!

     

Leave a Reply

 
