RSS

Ever Take Apart a TV?

10 Jan

bush-tv-vcr-combo.jpg

So the other night, I came home anxious to watch the New Hampshire Primary results and we couldn’t find the remote control anywhere. The front panel of my Dish Network receiver is locked so that you can only change the channel with the remote. So there I was, dying to know whether Mitt Romney won the primary, and my TV was stuck on some stupid Lindsey Lohan movie on Disney Channel! Argghh.

So I went downstairs to find an old TV/VCR combination unit that I bought from my brother-in-law a couple of years ago. I brought it upstairs to see if I could get reception the old fashioned way. But the old TV wasn’t interested in working for me. It would turn off every 10 seconds or so. Years ago, the antennae broke off and the reception has been bad ever since. Later on, the VCR stopped working. So at this point I had had it. I was determined to junk this stupid TV. But then I decided it would be more interesting to take it apart and see what makes a TV and a VCR tick… (well, they don’t usually tick, but you know what I mean).

My children loved the idea, especially Parley, who I believe might be an engineer in the making. He was so excited. He went to the garage and brought us back two Phillips screw drivers and we went to work. We opened up the casing and and starting extracting the pieces and examining them. It was fascinating. I just wish I had someone to explain to me what the different parts do.

Parley harvested a couple of circuit boards, which he thinks look like a mini-city with skyscrapers. I enjoyed seeing all the different parts and marveled at how people figured out how to put all those pieces together. Building a TV must be a complicated process — so far beyond my capacity to understand.

Oh, I finally did find the remote control, but by then it was too late, I missed the early coverage. It’s just as well. My man Romney took second place to John McCain. Darnit!

 
4 Comments

Posted by on January 10, 2008 in Uncategorized

 

4 responses to “Ever Take Apart a TV?

  1. Vicki

    January 10, 2008 at 6:47 am

    I think Parley is really good at that kind of stuff too. Don’t you think engineers kind of rule the world? I used my DVR to record some stuff on the New Hampshire Primary–oh I love that DVR–thanks engineers.

     
  2. liz

    January 10, 2008 at 6:36 pm

    I want to hear about the forthcoming new television. I think you deserve one, after putting up with that one all this time 🙂

     
  3. kira

    January 11, 2008 at 3:10 am

    sounds fun…in a geeky sort of way, but still – fun!

     
  4. Bill

    April 29, 2009 at 3:35 pm

    Dude, high voltage capaciters in tv’s can shock you badly, they used to kill people. Be Carefull!

     

Leave a Reply

 
