RSS

“I Gotta Go”

19 Jan

Every time one of my kids says something cute, we talk about how we should write it down. Well, the blog is a great place to share stuff like that. Here goes:

Lily has been potty trained for a long time now (at least a year), but she has never given up the habit of informing us of every time she needs to use the restroom. “Mom and Dad, I need to go potty!” Since we don’t want her asking her friends if she can go “potty” when she’s a teenager, we have been trying to teach her that she doesn’t need to inform us every time she gets the urge to go. We keep telling her that she can just go and doesn’t need to tell us, but its a hard habit for her to break.

This week, after she announced her intention to pee, I said to her, “Lily, when you need to go, just go and then tell us afterwards so we’ll be surprised.” She liked that idea. The next day when nature began to call, she came up to us and announced: “Guys, I’m not going to tell you that I need to go potty!” We smiled.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on January 19, 2008 in Family

 

One response to ““I Gotta Go”

  1. Vicki

    January 23, 2008 at 8:24 pm

    I can just hear that cute little voice. I love the way Lily May expresses herself.

     

Leave a Reply

 
