RSS

Farewell President Hinckley

06 Feb

President Gordon Bitner Hinckley died on January 27, 2008 at the age of 97. I will miss him dearly. He has been a member of the First Presidency for as long as I can remember, and his legacy of faith and good works will live on. He sealed my parents in the Salt Lake Temple in December 1970, and we have felt a great love for him as he has tirelessly ministered to the people of the Church and the world.

Last Friday, I took the opportunity to attend his viewing at the Conference Center in Salt Lake City. I stood in line for over an hour to pay my respects. As I waited, I listened to several of his talks and remembered his incredible life. As I entered the “Hall of the Prophets,” I felt a sweet spiritual assurance that President Hinckley continues to live and is now reunited with his beloved Marjorie, and is enjoying association with other ancient and modern prophets. The most comforting thought for me is to imagine him embracing the Savior Jesus Christ, whom President Hinckley served so well. I shed a lot more tears at the funeral that I expected I would. But they were not tears of sorrow. They were tears of joy that a faithful servant of God has now found peace.

I found a very touching tribute to President Hinckley on YouTube. Enjoy!

 
1 Comment

Posted by on February 6, 2008 in Uncategorized

 

One response to “Farewell President Hinckley

  1. Vicki

    February 7, 2008 at 5:56 am

    Thank you for finding that great tribute to President Hinckley on YouTube. I was very touched by it.

     

Leave a Reply

 
