RSS

I Miss You Dad

12 Feb

Three years ago today my dear father, Kent Lambert, passed away from prostate cancer at the age of 57. Several months before he died, the doctors told him he had six months to live. He lived for seven months, giving us a wonderful, final Christmas together.

Dad was a loving father and a good provider. He was also very much in love with my mother. He set a great example for all his children as a man who loved the Lord, who was totally committed to the gospel of Jesus Christ. I miss him dearly. I miss being able to call him on the phone and talk about the latest gadget (he would have loved the iPhone) or politics (he would have been glued to Fox News during the entire presidential primary this year). Although I take great comfort in my firm belief that families are forever, I still wish every day that he were here with me. I wish he could be here to grow old alongside my sweet mother. But it was not to be…

Anyway, here’s a little look back at his memorable life through some video clips. At the end of the clip, he bears his testimony of the restored gospel.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on February 12, 2008 in Family

 

5 responses to “I Miss You Dad

  1. Nate

    February 12, 2008 at 3:25 pm

    Wow, I’m always amazed to see all those videos of dad being SO thin. It was only until I was probably a teenager, towards the end of dad’s life, that he put on all that weight. That’s pretty cool that he was able to stay so thin for most of his life even though it always seemed to be a life-long struggle for him.

    Boy do I miss him, what an outstanding example of faith he was to me.

     
  2. Holly

    February 12, 2008 at 5:07 pm

    It’s always touching to watch that video. It really puts things into perspective for me. I think about what a great life Dad lived, and all the people he touched. I hope I can make a similar impression on my friends and family. He was certainly a great man. I miss him so much.

     
  3. Vicki

    February 13, 2008 at 6:52 am

    I loved the video–thank you! I enjoyed listening to Dad’s funeral today and the wonderful talks given by all of our children. I’ve had a special day reminiscing about Dad and the wonderful life we had together.

     
  4. andrewalma

    February 13, 2008 at 11:39 pm

    I think it’s so great that you have videos of Kent throughout your family life. I don’t have any of my dad from way back when, and I sure wish I did. How fun to see him when he was our age, and to see him in all the following stages of life! What great memories for you!

     
  5. andrewalma

    February 13, 2008 at 11:40 pm

    Oops, that was me, Robin, writing on Andrew’s computer. It wasn’t really Andrew complementing himself!

     

Leave a Reply

 
