RSS

A Little About Myself

14 Feb

So my wife Robin “tagged” me several days ago, so I’m complying as one of my Valentine’s Day gifts to her :-).  Here’s a little bit of information about myself, as I’m sure you’re all dying to know. 

10 years ago:
In February 1998, I was working for BYU’s NewsNet, which involved writing articles for the Daily Universeand producing news spots for the student-produced KBYU News. (As you can imagine, I loved seeing my name in print and seeing myself on TV — it was a thrill.) I was living with my new wife in a little duplex in Provo (just off the Provo River) and I was serving in an elders’ quorum presidency. We had no children and had just returned from our second trip to Orlando in six months.

5 things on my to-do list today:
1. Have lunch with my friend James at Lonestar Steakhouse
2. Buy chocolate-covered strawberries for my sweetheart
3. Call Blockbuster Online to tell them they sent me the wrong disk
4. Shovel my driveway and walk (Parley helped me with that this morning)
5. Pay monthly tuition for Brianna’s “Sunshine Generation” class

5 snacks I enjoy:
1. Doritos chips
2. Cheetos
3. Licorice
4. Smoked almonds
5. Salt water taffy
(None of these are particularly healthy… d’oh!)

What would I do if I were suddenly made a billionaire?
I would quit my job and buy a large, comfortable home and brand new luxury cars (Lexus or BMW would be nice). I would pay lots of tithing and then I would travel all over the world to see all the things I’ve always wanted to see. (Hopefully I wouldn’t be cursed like Hurley on the TV show Lost.) Finally, I would find ways to use my wealth for good purposes (seriously).

3 of my bad habits:
1. Biting my fingernails.
2. Not delegating very well.
3. Eating too much.

5 places I have lived:
1. East Millcreek, UT – 1976 to 1985
2. Sandy, UT – 1985 – 1993
3. Sao Paulo, Brazil – 1994 to 1995
4. Jerusalem, Israel – 1996
5. Provo, UT – Midvale, UT and Riverton, UT – 1997 to 2008

5 jobs that I have had:
1. Dishwasher at Rafael’s Mexican Restaurant in Sandy (first miserable job)
2. LDS Church Audiovisual Department (freelancer) and meat department at Macy’s (before my mission)
3. Portuguese Instructor at the Missionary Training Center in Provo, UT (taught over 80 missionaries)
4. Marketing Manager at This is The Place Heritage Park in Salt Lake City (loved this non-profit job)
5. Marketing Manager at Unishippers (great company; recently promoted)

5 things people don’t know about me:
1. I had two career ambitions as a boy — to be President of the United States and to be a famous broadcast anchorman like Dick Nourse or Dan Rather. (Neither of these has panned out…yet; Mitt Romney was simply paving my way to become the first Mormon president; I’m 33 right now and so in two years I’ll be eligible to run. 🙂 I actually no longer have the deisre to do either of these things.)

2. I have never broken a bone or been under general anesthesia in my life; I have never spent the night in a hospital as a patient. (Knock on wood…)

3. I have a thing for Japanese cars and prefer them over American cars. My Toyota Camry is 12 years old and is approaching 200,000 miles. I have done very little maintenance and it has been extremely reliable. As they say, FORD stands for “Fix or Repair Daily.”

4. I’m not really that interested in adult scouting recognition awards. Some people in my stake love to go to “roundtable” and wear all these patches and beads. That just doesn’t really float my boat. I finally broke down and bought a uniform, but I’m not particularly interested in decking it out with patches.

5. I played the main part in a short church video when I was 17 years old — one that is still sold at the church distribution center. It’s called Membership Involvement in Meetinghouse and Grounds Care. (Yeah, I know, not particularly glamourous…) Anyway, a few years ago I was asked to teach a lesson to the Priests’ quorum and the manual suggested that I show that video. So without telling the boys I was in it, I said: “The manual suggests we show this video, so here it is…” When they saw my 17-year-old face on the screen, the young men in the priests quorum hooted with more boisterous laughter than I have ever heard in church before or since. After the surprised laughter died down and the movie ended, one of the boys said to me “Brother Lambert, your hair looks exactly the same as it did when you were our age!” Hey, why mess with a good thing!

 
5 Comments

Posted by on February 14, 2008 in Uncategorized

 

5 responses to “A Little About Myself

  1. Jake M

    February 14, 2008 at 9:04 pm

    That story about the Grounds Keeping video is classic. I think I’ll have to go check out the local church library to see what it is all about… and to verify the hair thing.
    Awesome!

     
  2. liz

    February 15, 2008 at 7:45 am

    How come this is the first I’ve heard about that video? Totally buying it the next time I’m at the distribution center. I wanted to be president of the U.S. when I was little too! Maybe the first woman and the first Mormon!?

     
  3. robinbl

    February 15, 2008 at 10:38 am

    Liz, I can’t believe you’ve never heard about the video before; that’s one of his favorite stories! Honey, I think once you manage to survive your stint in the bishopric, you should go out or commercials! That or get bleached highlights!

     
  4. J. Paul

    February 15, 2008 at 11:06 am

    Andrew,

    Great blog! I was in San Antonio a few years ago on a trip and ended up going to church. During priesthood meeting they showed your movie. There were some cat calls from some young women who were in the back. Just kidding. Hope all is well.

     
  5. kira

    February 15, 2008 at 1:55 pm

    love the video story. Aaron seems to change his hair all the time…if you need a new style Aaron has a few you could check out! 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
