RSS

Changes, Changes

27 Mar

On Monday morning I did something that, three weeks ago, I could hardly imagine doing. I gave my two week’s notice to Unishippers. After nearly four years of great experiences in the marketing department at the corporate headquarters of one of the largest resellers of shipping services in the country, I knew it was time to move on. But it was really hard to tell all my friends there that I would be leaving. I have enjoyed the job very much and have grown a lot there. And Unishippers has been really good to me.

unishippers.jpg

But opportunity knocked, and I had to answer. I was presented with an opportunity to work in business development with U.S. Bank as a relationship manager /business banking officer. The job will give me opportunities to grow and develop in new ways. It will allow me to use my talents of working with people, and it will compensate me for my extra efforts with a very attractive incentive plan for bringing on new business. Yes, it’s a career change. For the last ten years I have spent in public relations, marketing and corporate communicatioins. Now I’m changing industries to banking and changing career path to sales/business development.

us-bank.jpg

But I feel confident that it is the right move for me at this time. And I feel excited to take on new challenges and have more control over my compensation based on my performance. Yes, it’s also a bit scary — to go from something you know to face the unknown. However, I liken big changes like this one to cliff jumping. You stand on the edge of the cliff watching others jump into the lake below. You see how much fun they are having, but your fears keep you from taking the plunge. You finally take the leap and as you are falling you think in desparation, “What am I doing?” But then as you hit the water, you get the thrill you were seeking, and you’re ready for more. Are people injured while cliff jumping? Certainly. But if done carefully, it can be a lot of fun. Risk and return I guess. I know it won’t be easy to make this career move. But I’m ready for the challenge and I hungry for success!

 
5 Comments

Posted by on March 27, 2008 in Uncategorized

 

5 responses to “Changes, Changes

  1. kira

    March 28, 2008 at 8:47 am

    we’ll keep our fingers crossed for you!

     
  2. robinbl

    March 30, 2008 at 1:28 pm

    I think some of our best growth comes from when we are put out of our comfort zone and have to take on new challenges. I know we’ve had to face that sort of “growth” out of forced necessity in the past, and I think it’s exciting that now you are choosing to put yourself out there of your own volition. Grow, baby, grow!

     
  3. Shannon

    March 31, 2008 at 1:14 pm

    Congratulations! You’ll do a great job. We need to have Lily over this week while it’s still convenient to drop her off on your way to work.
    I’ve always hated cliff jumping or pain of any kind for that matter. Isn’t there a way to grow without it?

     
  4. Vicki

    April 3, 2008 at 12:22 am

    I’m excited about your new job, and also grateful for the wonderful years you’ve enjoyed at Unishippers–they’ve been a fine company. I know you’ll be a great success.

     
  5. Kristy Willhite

    April 15, 2008 at 2:13 pm

    You’re gonna love it! If you and Robin make it to an annual pinnacle you’ll feel like the rich and famous. The bank has treated us so well.

     

Leave a Reply

 
