RSS

New Brazilian Temple

10 May

When I was a young LDS missionary serving in Sao Paulo, Brazil, we got word that a new temple would be constructed in Recife. After nearly 15 years, the Sao Paulo temple would no longer be the only LDS temple in Brazil. It was electrifying news for all of us who were serving in Brazil in the early 1990s because the construction of temples is a good indicator of growth and the strengthening of the church in a particular area. It wasn’t until a few years after I arrived home that the Recife temple was actually dedicated. Now there are temples in Sao Paulo, Recife, Campinas and Porto Alegre. This morning I read about the completion of the Curitiba, Brazil temple and plans to construct a temple in Manaus. This is fantastic news for the Brazilian Latter-day Saints since it brings these special houses of worship closer to them. Here’s a photo of the new temple:

Click here for more information on the Curitiba, Brazil temple.

Last week, my brother Matt and I attended a temple session at the Jordan River Temple in Portuguese. It was a treat to be able to listen to the endowment in the language of my mission, the language where my testimony of the restoration of the gospel flourished.

What a blessing it is to have temples so close to us! The Jordan River Temple is literally five minutes away from my home in Riverton. And in the next few months, two more temples (Draper and Oquirrh Mountain) will be dedicated within just a few minutes of my house. Another five temples (Salt Lake, Bountiful, Mt. Timpanogos, Ogden and Provo) are within an hour’s drive, with two others (Logan and Manti) within a two-hour drive. And yet, it’s not always easy to make the time to go to the temple. I am sometimes ashamed that because of the “easiness of the way,” religious devotion is sometimes neglected. I remind myself of stories of Brazilian saints who traveled for days on boats and buses to attend the temple. And I have a five minute car ride? Wow, that makes you think!

 
1 Comment

Posted by on May 10, 2008 in Spirituality

 

One response to “New Brazilian Temple

  1. Vicki

    May 15, 2008 at 9:40 pm

    Your post reminded me of the great blessing of having Temples so close. I was also thrilled to read about the new Temple in Brazil.

     

Leave a Reply

 
