RSS

Sign of the Times

16 May

So I’ve been with the bank for just over a month now, and I have to say that I am loving it. Each day presents a new challenge. I am learning so much about banking and business. I feel like I am stretching myself in new ways and that I am using my talents and developing new skills. It’s wonderful. My goal is to spend 10 hours per week with the other business banking officers (about 2 hours per day) learning from them as they go on sales calls, analyze financial documents and submit applications. I have also committed to 10 hours per week of personal prospecting to new clients, either on the phone or in person, as well as five hours per week doing visits to existing bank customers. The remainder of my time is spent in various activities from on-line product training and conference call classes to team meetings and coaching with my manager. Every day is different. I’m in two or three different bank branches every day, not to mention a myriad of other locations around the valley with prospects, clients, bank branch managers and other business banking officers. So different from the 8 hours each day I would spend in front of my computer in the same cubicle at my last job!

Anyway, yesterday I stopped in to visit a customer by myself and afterwards I decided to canvass the area to introduce myself and find some new business. I was in an area of South Salt Lake that was somewhat ghetto and I came across an auto repair shop that had a big sign in front which was written on a detached truck hood. I had to snap a picture of it…

Yes, that’s my new job — to see if companies like this one would like to get a loan or move their savings accounts to us. I imagine my manager would suggest that this is not the profile of business that we are looking to establish a relationship with! I am simply posting this picture here to demonstrate the wide variety of places that I visit in any given day with my new job. So interesting!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on May 16, 2008 in Uncategorized

 

2 responses to “Sign of the Times

  1. kira

    May 16, 2008 at 8:28 am

    glad to hear you like your new job!

     
  2. Vicki

    May 20, 2008 at 8:55 pm

    Your job sounds like there is a lot of variety–which makes for a terrific career. You’re a natural for this!

     

Leave a Reply

 
