RSS

Shoes Make the Man?

22 May

So today I attended a training with a bunch of branch managers from the bank on various deposit products for businesses (checking and savings accounts) and somehow the trainer got on the subject of dressing for success. One veteran branch manager discussed that while many people think it’s okay to go “business casual,” bankers really ought to wear a coat and tie all the time to project professionalism. I supposed I agree that clothing does have an impact on the way that people perceive you. I have been wearing a tie every day for the past six weeks and it’s been an interesting adjustment for me. No more golf shirts or casual Fridays… 😦

Anyway, during the training class, another person spoke up and said they think a person’s shoes make a real impression since people often look down at your shoes when you shake their hand. It was suggested that shoes were the foundation one’s personal appearance and that they say a lot about one’s character. Suddenly I was keenly aware that my shoes were scuffed up and somewhat shabby looking that day. Yikes!

The trainer was a very fun and entertaining black lady from Missouri who confessed to us that she owns 270 pairs of shoes! Now, perhaps she was exaggerating, but still, I believe she must have A LOT of shoes! Amazing. I can’t imagine having that many shoes. I have thee pair at any given time: black, brown and gym, along with some sandals. But since I don’t want to be viewed as having a scuffed up, shabby character, I had better invest in one or two more pair. And I really need to resist the temptation to buy from Payless Shoes. Is it possible that I can spend $50 on a pair of shoes?

 
4 Comments

Posted by on May 22, 2008 in Uncategorized

 

4 responses to “Shoes Make the Man?

  1. robinbl

    May 23, 2008 at 10:00 am

    I’ve often heard that shoes are a good indication of how much a person invests in themselves. I’ve usually heard it about women, but I’m sure it applies to men as well. I actually remember seeing something on TV where some maitre’d at one of those fancy restaurants that only let the “right kind of people” in said that if someone tries to get in without a reservation, he looks at their shoes, and he bases his decision on what kind of footwear they’ve got on.
    I would dearly love to spend more money on shoes, just as I would dearly love to spend more money on clothes. Unfortunately, being a stay at home mom means not having a good excuse for splurging on things like that. If I continue to dress as slobbily as I have, will anybody please submit my name to “What Not to Wear”?

     
  2. Liz

    May 28, 2008 at 6:22 am

    I think you might want to consider spending even more than $50. I have really found some of my more expensive shoes to be a worthwhile investment (your mom commented on my cute sandals the other day, which are Doc Martens and cost $100, and which I bought when Benjamin was a new baby 8 years ago!). Have you ever tried DSW Shoe Warehouse? They have name-brand shoes, sometimes at very good prices. I’ve also had good luck with Famous Footwear. Oh, and Nordstrom Rack in Sugarhouse has great deals. I know keeping up appearances isn’t completely your style, but definitely agree that shoes make an impression 🙂

     
  3. dubnium

    June 2, 2008 at 7:03 pm

    Dubnium says : I absolutely agree with this !

     
  4. Curatively

    June 19, 2008 at 2:58 am

    Somehow i missed the point. Probably lost in translation 🙂 Anyway … nice blog to visit.

    cheers, Curatively.

     

Leave a Reply

 
