RSS

Where have all the bloggers gone?

09 Jul

About one year ago, blogging became popular in my family. My wife and I and several sisters-in-law started blogs and contributed to them regularly. (Two of my brothers and even my son Parley also started blogs but didn’t add much to them after a few entries.) Now, after about a year, the blogging fad seems to be wearing off a bit. Or perhaps these bloggers (including myself) are simply taking a break. Of the blogs that I read regularly, few have added anything over the past month. And I haven’t done much better. So where have all the bloggers gone?

I think there are a few factors that contribute to our lack of blogging:

1. Summer is here. Who wants to be sitting in front of a computer when there are all kinds of outdoor activities to enjoy? Not to mention that the kids are out of school and so there is less time.

2. Blogging has lost its novelty. At first, it was really cool to see my words and pictures on the Internet, now it’s not quite as exciting.

3. Losing steam. What to write about? Does anyone care? Does anyone read it? What if I don’t feel like writing anything? I don’t want to feel guilty for not writing, I already have enough things to feel guilty about.

One thing I’m sure about blogging: if you don’t contribute regularly, you don’t give people a reason to continue to visit your site. And if they don’t have a reason to come back, your readership drops and you write less because fewer people are reading… It’s a vicious cycle.

In short, I find this blogging phenomenon to be very interesting. I plan to continue blogging since it gives me a creative outlet and is a good way to do family history. But I always want to have fun doing it. So I promise that my next post will be more FUN!

 
5 Comments

Posted by on July 9, 2008 in Random Thoughts

 

5 responses to “Where have all the bloggers gone?

  1. shannon

    July 9, 2008 at 4:46 pm

    I’ve been wondering the same thing. I still faithfully check out ya’all’s blogs but I don’t always comment. So from now on I promise to comment on every blog I read. There… let that be an incentive for you and get to blogging!

     
  2. kira

    July 9, 2008 at 5:38 pm

    you forgot to add just plain lazy to the list. 🙂

     
  3. Vicki

    July 9, 2008 at 9:25 pm

    I look forward to reading your blogs–keep ’em coming!

     
  4. Vicki

    July 9, 2008 at 9:27 pm

    Reading your blogs is part of my entertainment–it’s fun to learn about your life.

     
  5. Angela Faulconer

    July 12, 2008 at 9:01 pm

    Keep going Andrew! You have an audience!

     

Leave a Reply

 
