RSS

Eli the Shepherd

30 Sep

Last Saturday was my first rehearsal for “Savior of the World,” a wonderful musical about the birth and resurrection of Jesus Christ which is performed each Christmas season at the Conference Center Theater in Salt Lake City. I have wanted to do this show for many years, and this year I decided to audition (after securing my wife’s blessing). I have been cast in the role of Eli the Shepherd. It’s a decent-sized part with a fair amount of dialogue and a short solo. I am part of the cast that does the show on Wednesday, Friday and a Saturday matinee. Our opening night is Friday, November 14 and the show continues through December 27. Tickets go on sale October 14 and sell quickly. I’ll post more details as it gets nearer.

They have asked me not to cut my hair until after the show is over. They have also asked me to grow a beard so I’ll fit the part better. It will be funny to see a bearded Andrew sitting next to the bishop at church on Sunday! Hopefully I can get it to look thick and attractive. I’m going to start growing it one month before the show begins.

Rehearsals aren’t too bad. One night a week and Saturday mornings. It will get busier as we get closer to the opening of the show, but that is to be expected. I’m working hard to memorize my lines and learn the music. It sure will be fun to get back on stage. There’s nothing quite like LIVE theater. So many variables, anything could happen!!

 
4 Comments

Posted by on September 30, 2008 in Music / Theater

 

4 responses to “Eli the Shepherd

  1. Emily Cain

    September 30, 2008 at 5:09 pm

    You will be great!

     
  2. kira

    October 1, 2008 at 3:09 pm

    I love this show!

     
  3. Vicki

    October 1, 2008 at 10:11 pm

    I’m so excited to see you perform again! You’ll be terrific!

     
  4. Deleyne Wentz

    October 5, 2008 at 7:05 pm

    I hope we will be able to come see you. Trent suggests starting at least two months early on the beard, or even sooner, to insure a great beard!

     

Leave a Reply

 
