RSS

Whew!!! What a trip!

21 Oct

Yesterday was my 34th birthday and the day we returned from our trip to New York City. And what a trip it was! In true Andrew Lambert fashion, I made the most of it while trying to spend as little as possible. The entire trip cost us just over $2,000 and included deals like Priceline hotels in New Jersey, frequently flyer miles for one of our airfares, the City Pass which lets you in to all kinds of cool places, and breakfast and lunch on the run, eating food from street vendors. (My wife is a saint for putting up with all of that.) Here’s a quick summary of what we did over the past five days!

Downtown Loop Bus Tour (Manhattan, Financial District)
Bodies – The Exhibit
NBC Studio Tour
St. Patrick’s Cathedral
Museum of Modern Art
Times Square / Planet Hollywood
Madame Tussaud’s Wax Museum
Marry Poppins The Musical on Broadway
New York Skyride
Empire State Building Observation Deck
Uptown Loop Tour (Bronx, Harlem)
Guggenheim Museum
Central Park / Belvedere Castle
American Museum of Natural History
Night Tour to Brooklyn
Rockefeller Center Tour
Radio City Music Hall Tour
World Trade Center Site
Battery Park
Statue of Liberty
Ellis Island Immigration Museum
Metropolitan Museum of Art
Central Park Mall with Fountain
Columbus Circle
Lincoln Center
Manhattan LDS Temple

And if that weren’t enough, yesterday, I got bumped off my flight home and so I had six hours to kill before the next flight. Robin got on the plane in the morning, and I got on a train back to New York to spend a few more hours. While there I bought an all-day Subway pass and I walked over the Brooklyn Bridge, visited a farmer’s market in Union Square (14th Street), checked out Grand Central Station and then rented a bike for an hour and explored Central Park. Amazing! My flight home was in first class and so I watched a couple of movies, slept and was treated like a king! There’s a birthday to remember. Now it’s time to get back to reality!

Note: This post was an overview. Stay tuned for upcoming posts this week including my thoughts on my favorite attractions, the transit system, food reviews, overall culture analysis (urban, diversity) and pictures!!

 
5 Comments

Posted by on October 21, 2008 in Trips

 

5 responses to “Whew!!! What a trip!

  1. Chris

    October 21, 2008 at 7:15 am

    I can’t wait to hear about it dude! Let’s get some pictures on here!

     
  2. shannon

    October 21, 2008 at 8:11 am

    Wow that’s sounds amazing but not at all relaxing!! I always liked the idea of Chris and I taking a vacation with you and Robin, but now I’m thinking that our vacation styles might clash a little. 🙂 I’m glad you had fun and are back safe. Happy late birthday!!

     
  3. Holly

    October 21, 2008 at 9:35 pm

    From your list of activities, I recognize many of them. While we were there, Chris and I did eleven of the same things you did. New York City is pretty awesome! Did you mind travelling back and forth from New Jersey?

     
  4. liz

    October 26, 2008 at 5:51 pm

    This is Matt. I can’t believe how many things you did. You owe Robin many hours of dedicated “honey do list” execution time!

     
  5. Vicki

    October 28, 2008 at 3:11 pm

    You know how to get the most our of a trip!!

     

Leave a Reply

 
