RSS

A New Look for Andrew

21 Nov

Longer hair, full beard, 25 pounds slimmer, leather jacket… is Andrew going through an early mid-life crisis? Not yet, I’m still in my mid-30s. No, it’s all for the theater! My production of “Savior of the World” is now in its second week and I still have 13 shows in which to perform the role of Eli the Shepherd. And while tickets are no longer available online, each performance has stand-by tickets which ARE available for purchase at the box office before the show. So if you want to see it, just arrive at the Conference Center Theater one hour before showtime (about 6:30 or so on Wednesdays or Friday nights or 1:00 Saturday afternoons for the matinee) and chances are very good that you’ll get in. I am confident that you’ll enjoy it. The script and music are well written, the sets, costumes, props, lighting and sound are first rate, and the acting/singing is pretty great too. More important however is the message the show conveys… a message of hope and faith. A powerful message about the divine mission of the Savior Jesus Christ.

n752755721_4823861_7985

Anyway, this picture kind of reminds me of my Dad, who, when he was in his 40s, lost some weight, wore contact lenses instead of glasses, grew a beard and got a permanent for his hair! It was the 1980s, and perms for guys was more acceptable back then. I have to say that when I first saw his hair, I laughed out loud and told him he looked like Richard Simmons — he was not at all happy with that assessment! So chances are I won’t be getting a “perm,” even though my brother Matt offered to pay for me to get one since he thinks it would be funny. Who knows, perhaps it would look good?

I’m guessing the beard and longer hair will disappear on December 27, the day the show closes. My job at the bank typically requires more conservative appearances as does my calling as a counselor in the bishopric. The beard has created somewhat of a stir in the ward and I have to constantly give the disclaimer that it’s for a show that I’m in which is sponsored by the Church. It’s a funny cultural thing… wherein facial hair is considered by some to be a sign of apostacy and/or rebellion. I wonder what Brigham Young would have thought about that?

 
2 Comments

Posted by on November 21, 2008 in Random Thoughts

 

2 responses to “A New Look for Andrew

  1. Laura Champneys Alldredge

    November 21, 2008 at 3:50 pm

    Andrew,

    You look the same as you did when we were young! After reading a little bit of your blog you remind me a little of Donny Osmond. Your headed down the same track he was on and what a great man! Congratulations on the weight loss. You look great!

     
  2. Vicki

    November 24, 2008 at 10:41 pm

    What a handsome guy! The show was awesome and I can’t wait to see it again.

     

Leave a Reply

 
