RSS

I Hate Christmas Lights!

29 Nov

Okay, so the title of that post makes me sound like Ebenezer Scrooge. Of course, Scrooge’s story is set in the 1840s, so he wouldn’t have known what Christmas lights were. He also wouldn’t have understood the frustration that I felt yesterday as I broke out the Christmas lights for the season and found, to my dismay that all six strands of my outdoor icicle lights did not work. Now I expected one or two not to work since these things typically do not have a very long shelf life. But all six? Give me a break. I was so annoyed. That’s at least $50 worth of lights! I told the kids that I wasn’t going to put any lights up outside, which proposition was met with extreme dismay from my daughter Brianna. She was horrified at the thought that our house wouldn’t be beautifully decorated. The kids already complained that we didn’t have any Halloween decorations out last month, so I figured I’d better go get some. I drove over to Sam’s Club and bought a set of 400 commercial grade clear Christmas lights. Then I drove home and put them up. I admit they’re kind of boring, but I’m sick of buying lights every single year. Thankfully, most of the indoor lights for the Christmas tree worked. We spent a couple of hours assembling the tree, shaping it and putting on lights and ornaments. It’s our family tradition to do that on the day after Thanksgiving while listening to Christmas music, and we had a good time.

BTW, I absolutely refuse to listen to Christmas music or even think much about Christmas before Thanksgiving is over. Two local radio stations have been playing non-stop Christmas music since November 1. And I have refused to tune in to them. However, now that the holiday season has officially begun, I’m sure I’ll be tuning in frequently. I just don’t like to have Thanksgiving overshadowed by Christmas. Come on, we have a whole month to celebrate Christmas. Christmas has millions of songs, decorations and activities associated with it. Thanksgiving has very few songs (Adam Sandler’s Turkey Song, any others?), fewer decorations and one main activity. EATING! Oh, and counting our blessings. I love counting my blessings. It’s an activity I find very helpful for my mental health. What are your thoughts on Thanksgiving and Christmas?

 
3 Comments

Posted by on November 29, 2008 in Random Thoughts

 

3 responses to “I Hate Christmas Lights!

  1. Shannon Brewer

    November 30, 2008 at 4:59 pm

    Poor picked on Thanksgiving… whatever. Thanksgiving deserves to be over shadowed by Christmas. If it wants equal recognition then it had better step it up.

     
  2. Kristy

    December 1, 2008 at 10:43 am

    I almost killed myself this weekend hanging up my lights. I need a new ladder!

    James

     
  3. Emily

    December 1, 2008 at 11:14 pm

    Arg!! I totally agree about the Christmas lights business. Last year I had four of the extra-long strands on the Christmas tree that had only one half of the strand working. There were, therefore, four massive clumps of dead lights stuffed in next to the trunk. I tossed them all at the end of the season and will have to start with all new this year.

    Love Christmas, though.

     

Leave a Reply

 
