RSS

Singing at Christmas!

23 Dec

I’ve posted about this before, but I just LOVE singing at Christmastime. And this season has been especially busy with my involvement in “Savior of the World.” After the show closes on Saturday, I will have done 16 performances since we opened on November 15, along with six gigs with “Harmonix,” my acapella performing group, during the month of December. Add that to the ward choir performance on Sunday (which could have used A LOT more rehearsal) and I’d say it’s been a very busy performing schedule. My wife has been so sweet and understanding through it all, although I realize I owe her BIG TIME.

Tonight, the bishop and me, along with the first counselor, finished our annual six-hour marathon of caroling at each of the 150+ households in our ward boundaries. We sing a verse of a traditional carol, drop off a card, wish a Merry Christmas and are on our way. People are generally gracious, although I still think it’s kind of funny to have three grown men serenading other adults, children and lots of dogs at the door. It’s a great way to spread some Christmas cheer and bear witness to the good news of the gospel of Jesus Christ at the same time.

Tonight, an elderly lady answered the door and got all misty-eyed and told us how much our brief visit meant to her. This woman, who has very little contact with the outside world, said we made her night. Another man, who had just had a stroke, smiled and thanked us by giving us a plate of goodies.

There’s just something about music at this time of year. I love it!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 23, 2008 in Music / Theater

 

Leave a Reply

 
