RSS

Goodbye Beard

27 Dec

Okay, this post is just silly. It is not me being an egomaniac and posting 10 headshots of myself. It’s just that for the past couple of months I’ve had a beard and longer hair, which is a big change from my look, which has basically remained the same over the past 20 years. Now that my play has ended, I have shaved my face and cut my hair. I just thought I’d have a little fun in the process. So my wife dutifully took all these mug shots as I shaved in stages. I find it fascinating how various facial hair styles evoke different reactions from different people such as:

andrews-beard-001

My last haircut was in early August, an eternity ago for me who gets a haircut every four to six weeks. This look works well for the shepherd part I played in the show. Others have said I look like a college poetry professor, a protesting 60’s radical or Barry Gibbs from the Bee Gees.

andrews-beard-002

After the haircut Robin said I now looked more like a lumberjack. Several people have told me I looked like Tony Stark from Iron Man (a.k.a. Robert Downey Jr.)

andrews-beard-003

This style, technically called a Van Dyke not a goatee, is very common today and doesn’t look too bad on me…

andrews-beard-004

Here’s a profile shot of my beard and somewhat prominent nose.

andrews-beard-006

Handlebar mustache. Reminds me of a small town sherrif.

andrews-beard-005

An even less flattering version of the handlebar mustache.

andrews-beard-007

Here’s one with the mustache only. I think you have to be over 50 to be able to grow a mustache and have it look decent. This look makes me think of a used car salesmen, or worse, a creepy guy offering kids candy near an elementary school.

andrews-beard-009

Another unflattering look with the mustache. Cheesey!

andrews-beard-010

Pure evil!

andrews-beard-012

Nice guy. Somewhat dumb looking with a newly shaven face. And it really is as smooth as a baby’s behind. (I know because I just  gave baby James a bath!)

So that’s my silly post for today. I’ve had lots of people tell me I should have kept the beard and/or the hair. Others have said I look better clean shaven. What do you think?

This shot was taken in Great Clips earlier tonight. When I arrived, they said I’d have to come back tomorrow as they were closing. I literally BEGGED them to let me get my hair cut; I offered to even pay extra. I just could bear the thought of another couple of days with this shaggy do…

untitled

 
3 Comments

Posted by on December 27, 2008 in Silly Stuff

 

3 responses to “Goodbye Beard

  1. Chris

    January 9, 2009 at 2:20 pm

    I liked the beard and the hair could’ve worked too with the right shaping (that sounded pretty gay didn’t it?). I wish you had the freedom to grow it without needing to be in a play because it really suited you. I also think you need to learn to accept your beard and not treat it like a second-class body part that is only good for being a stage prop when it is trying so hard to make you look good and keep your face warm. Consider the feelings of your beard Andrew. It wants to be handsome and useful yet you discard it immediately after your shepard’s role is finished. Chew on that for a while..

     
  2. rotacidare

    May 18, 2009 at 1:29 am

    Making searching about difference between goatee and van dyke(i’m a french man). I felt on your wabsite with your pictures. So..i’m juste leaving a message to say that you are very beautiful, with a really nive smile.
    Good bye and see you soon.
    Cédric

     
  3. Conrad

    September 20, 2009 at 12:14 pm

    Psst, it’s Barry Gibb. Barry Gibbs is a retired Hockey player. I think the Downey Jr. or Van Dyke suited you best.

     

Leave a Reply

 
