RSS

Kids Say the Darnest Things!

05 May

On Saturday afternoon, my seven-year old daughter Brianna and I were on a date when we saw an incredibly brilliant rainbow. We were both really awed by it and both of us wanted to express our excitement. She said to me something like this: “Dad, that rainbow is so beautiful, do you think it would be okay to use the Lord’s name in vain?” Surprised by her innocent inquiry, I said that even though it was really impressive, we shouldn’t use that word in an exclamation. She agreed and then said “Oh my gosh, that’s beautiful.” 🙂

Later on we were at a restaurant enjoying a pizza buffet to celebrate Lily’s birthday. An extremely overweight man was loading his plate up with pizza and salad. Five-year-old Lily, who was within three feet of him, pointed at him repeatedly and exclaimed, “Dad, he’s fat!” a couple of times. Needless to say, I quickly ushered her out of the restaurant, my face red and my eyes on the ground.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on May 5, 2009 in Family

 

4 responses to “Kids Say the Darnest Things!

  1. Matt Tenney

    May 6, 2009 at 6:35 am

    our kids have made comments about other people’s weight in public places as well … quite embarrassing.

     
  2. Vicki

    May 7, 2009 at 8:48 pm

    Thanks for sharing–you’ll want to remember these funny things your kids say!!

     
  3. Holly

    May 9, 2009 at 5:07 pm

    Thse stories are both hilarious! I bet you were so embarrassed when Lily said that. I’m guessing she said it loud enough that he could hear?

     
  4. Simone

    May 14, 2009 at 6:50 am

    I feel your pain. I have a 4 year old with diarrhea of the mouth also..LOL

     

Leave a Reply

 
