RSS

Great Trekspectations

10 May

Okay, so I stole that headline from the Deseret News which reviewed the new Star Trek movie, but it described my great interest in and excitement for the new film.

star_trek_03_1024

There are only a few movies that I see in the nice theaters (I usually wait for the dollar theater or DVD) and even fewer that I HAVE to see on opening night. But Star Trek is one of them.

I admit it. I’m a fan. I have never been to a convention and do not own any pointy ears, Star Trek uniforms or phasers.  But I have watched all 10 previous Star Trek movies at least twice each —  a few of them I have watched even more than that. I can even name all of their titles in order without looking it up:

Star Trek: The Motion Picture
Star Trek: The Wrath of Kahn
Star Trek: The Search for Spock
Star Trek: The Voyage Home
Star Trek: The Final Frontier
Star Trek: The Undiscovered Country
Star Trek: Generations
Star Trek: First Contact
Star Trek: Insurrection
Star Trek: Nemesis

My favorites are “The Wrath of Kahn,” “The Voyage Home” (the one with the whales) and “First Contact” (the one with the Borg taking over the Enterprise). The worst were The Motion Picture and The Final Frontier. The rest were good, but not great.

I’ve watched a good number of episodes from the six television series, especially “The Next Generation” and “Voyager.” I never really got into Deep Space Nine or Enterprise. And, interestingly, I don’t think I’ve ever seen a complete episode of Star Trek: The Original Series. So again, I guess I’m not what you’d consider a hard core fan. My favorite Trek series is Voyager. At first I thought it was really PC to have a woman captain, a Native American first officer and a black Vulcan security officer (or should I say African American Vulcan… but wait, if he’s Vulcan, how can he be American or African… I’m so confused). However, interesting story lines and good character development kept me coming back to Voyager. Robin enjoyed it too so we watched many episodes together back in the early 2000s.

I’ve been anticipating this latest film now for many years. The last Trek film was released in 2002 and didn’t get particularly good audience reception, so Star Trek has been on hiatus. Until now. The eleventh film titled simply “Star Trek” is a complete reboot of the franchise. Helmed by LOST creator J.J. Abrams, this new film boldly goes where Star Trek hasn’t gone before. And it left my wife Robin and me totally satisfied and looking forward to future sequels.

It was a fast-paced, action-packed thrill ride that has a universal appeal to both long-time fans and people who have never heard the Vulcan phrase, “Live long and prosper.” There was quite a bit of humor in the film and several references that paid homage to the other films and TV series which delighted fans but were subtle enough not to leave non-fans out of the fun. The actors were great and the special effects were spectacular without being overdone. (i.e. George Lucas in Star Wars Episodes I, II and III.) The film sets the stage for many more excellent adventures which we will look forward to watching.

So why do I like Star Trek? I will address that question in my next post, so stay tuned.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on May 10, 2009 in Popular Culture

 

Tags: , , , ,

One response to “Great Trekspectations

  1. Vicki

    May 19, 2009 at 8:04 pm

    Hey, I think that’s so cool that you know so much about Star Trek! Aaron and I went Tuesday night. I loved it!

     

Leave a Reply

 
