RSS

Confessions of a Trekkie

15 May

In my last post I discussed my interest in the pop culture phenomenon that is Star Trek. With 11 films grossing over $1 Billion, six TV series with over 700 total episodes, plus dozens of novels, books on tape, fan fiction and merchandise, the 40+ year franchise is alive and strong.

Here are a few reasons why I like Star Trek:

1. Science  – I love astronomy. Stars. Planets. Moos. Nebulae. Black Holes. It’s all very cool. I have always been fascinated by the natural world and the universe. Many of the plots of Star Trek shows are very scientific. Yes, there’s a lot of science fiction there too, but it’s fun to have a show at least loosely based on real science.

2. Technology – From extremely advanced medical innovations to traveling at “warp” speed to transporter technology (i.e. “beam me up”), technology on Star Trek has always fascinated me. Imagine being able to cure a fatal disease with a simple medical tri-corder or being able to travel faster than the speed of light to visit new parts of the galaxy. What would transporter technology do to our society if it were real. Can you imagine “beaming” to Hawaii for an afternoon on the beach? And some technology seems to have become a reality — wireless flip phones…

3. Exploration – I am a very curious person. I want to learn everything I can about many different subjects. The idea of having a starship whose primary purpose is to expand knowledge is quite appealing. Plus, I love to explore new areas. And while my day to day exploration may be limited to trying out a different jogging trail from time to time, I have a lot of wanderlust and I love seeing new places. Star Trek takes me to places that I cannot go (yes, they’re fictional places, but they are still very fun to visit.)

4. Optimism – The Star Trek universe provides a very optimistic vision of the future. In this vision of the 24th Century, mankind has overcome war and poverty. Disease has largely been eradicated and the entire planet is united in peace and prosperity. Exploration of the universe and mutually beneficial relationships with other lifeforms are prized above all else.

5. Oh, and I also like the action, the explosions, the fights, the villians, etc. I don’t care much for Klingons but I love the Borg, and I really like the Harogens, a brutal space-faring species that harvests organs from weaker lifeforms (as seen in episodes of the series Star Trek Voyager). Nothing like a good monster/villian for good entertainment.

Anyway, that’s what I like about Star Trek. I’ll continue to watch it, but don’t worry, I won’t be buying any pointy ears anytime soon.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on May 15, 2009 in Popular Culture

 

One response to “Confessions of a Trekkie

  1. Vicki

    May 19, 2009 at 8:06 pm

    I’m glad you are so curious! That makes life always interesting. I’d like to watch this film with you and have you explain little details to me so I can appreciate it more fully.

     

Leave a Reply

 
