RSS

Whew, what a summer!

08 Sep

Labor Day Weekend always feels like the end of summer for me, so this weekend we decided to play hard. From Friday to Monday, we watched three movies, ate at three restaurants, went swimming twice and even stayed overnight at a resort. I am exhausted from my relaxing weekend! And since it was the last weekend of summer, I thought about what I did over the past three months to accomplish some specific goals. Just for fun, I counted up some of my activities and, according to my diary entries from Memorial Day to Labor Day, I did the following:

Swimming
I visited the pool 28 times, including 16 visits with my kids, 10 visits on my own to swim laps and two visits with the scouts. Most of the visits were to the South County Outdoor Pool in Riverton, but I also visited the Crestwood Pool in Sandy, the South Jordan Fitness Center and Marv Jenson Recreation Center in South Jordan, Cowabunga Bay in Draper, East Canyon Resort in Henefer, the Hyatt Place in Denver, along with pools at my siblings’ condos and Sherwood Hills Resort in Wellsville.

Hiking
I went on 10 hikes this summer, although a couple would probably be better classified as walks. In June I hiked to Timpanogos Cave with Parley’s fourth grade class and then hiked to the top of Grandeur Peak with my brother Matt, followed by a hike with my brother Dan on the Lake Blanch Trail in Big Cottonwood Canyon. In July, our family hiked on the trail around Payson Lake and then the next weekend, my son Parley joined me on a hike to Dog Lake via Butler Fork. I did a hike every Saturday in August, including a trip to Huber Grove in Midway, a hike with Robin and baby James to Ghost Falls in Corner Canyon, a strenuous climb up to Cardiff Pass in Little Cottonwood Canyon with my brothers Dan and Nate, and a hike to Red Pine Lake with the scouts. The final “hike” was on the trails at the Sherwood Hills Resort yesterday. Good times.

Tennis
Over the past nine years, I have lived very close to a park with a tennis court. I love to play tennis, but since it requires making arrangements with other players, I have seldom played over the past decade. That all changed this summer as I found a couple willing tennis partners and played 15 times, including a couple of games with Parley who got a tennis racquet for his birthday in May.

Golfing
I had intended to play more golf this summer, but time and budget constraints didn’t allow for it. (I was busy doing other things, as you can see.) I did manage to hit a bucket of balls at South Mountain and at Riverbend. I also played a round of golf at Riverbend on July 4th and at Fox Hollow in American Fork last Saturday. Perhaps there’s still time to golf before the season ends.

Camping
We did four camping trips this summer including one night at Payson Lakes in July and one night in Wasatch Mountain State Park in August. The other two were in Riverton – one in our backyard in June (does that count) and the other in the field behind our church in August. (I also camped one night at Potter’s Ponds with the scouts and a night in the dorms at Snow College in Ephraim for youth conference.)

Add to all that jogging with my dog 30 minutes per day, six days per week and I’d say it was a very active summer. I wish I could say that all this physical activity resulted in my losing a bunch of weight, but lamentably, summer BBQs and cold desserts have prevented that. I guess the good news is that I haven’t gained weight; I continue my weigh-ins with my friend Mike and that has helped. I just wish I could get skinny and stay there! Anyway, I am currently forming my game plan for fall/winter physical fitness, which likely will include weight lifting (yuck) and racquetball. We’ll see…

 
3 Comments

Posted by on September 8, 2009 in Health

 

3 responses to “Whew, what a summer!

  1. Chris

    September 8, 2009 at 8:07 am

    Very impressive Andrew. I wish I also had something to say for this summer. I went hiking once, campouts 0,swimming 3 times. Wow, now I’m really depressed. Thanks a lot Andrew.:)

     
  2. Robin

    September 8, 2009 at 9:11 am

    First of all, you might want to change your spelling of diary, since right now it says dairy, and you wouldn’t want anyone to get confused and wonder where all the cows fit into this active summer 🙂

    I don’t know if the Payson Lake trail and the little walk yesterday could count as hikes, but as for the rest of it, yes, you have been making the rest of us look bad. You may not have lost weight, but you have made many great memories this summer. And I don’t count it as being over until after our trip this weekend!

     
  3. Vicki

    October 12, 2009 at 9:59 pm

    Andrew, you really live life to the fullest–that’s so cool. All your physical activity is so good for you. I enjoyed reading about your terrific summer!

     

Leave a Reply

 
