RSS

An Enchanted Land

29 May

I’ve heard about the beauty of Hawaii all my life. My grandpa was a travel agent and always raved about the beauty of the islands. I’ve watched LOST for the past few years (filmed on Oahu) and have been blown away by the breathtaking scenery of the island. So I had high expectations for my first visit there last week. And I was no disappointed. It really was incredible — so lush, so many exotic plants, flowers, waterfalls, beautiful sandy beaches, craggy volcanic rock clusters, impressive cliffs and huge waves. The weather was perfect, high 70s to low 80s. I especially loved the weather in the morning and at night.

Our accommodations during this trip were top-notch. We had two nights in a penthouse condo in Waikiki beach in Honolulu. Being on the 37th floor was very cool and we had some great views. We got a great deal on the room because our friends Steve and Liz are the owners of Koko Resorts and they manage several rental properties. We had a blast with them and with Robin’s brother Chris and his wife Shannon who we spent time with in Oahu.

During our three nights in Maui, we stayed at the Four Seasons of Maui at Wailea. This property was first-class. It was a five-star resort and everything about it was incredible (including the prices). Fountains, pools, huge columns, marble walkways that opened onto the beach, exceptionally manicured landscaping with grass, huge plants and colorful flowers.

We relaxed a lot and we played a lot. While on Oahu, I walked the beach, swam in the ocean, jogged five miles around the Diamond Head volcano, hiked to the top of Diamond Head for a breathtaking view, visited several beaches, enjoyed excellent entertainment at the Polynesian Cultural Center and got to see BYU Hawaii and the Laiea LDS temple. On Sunday, we attended a Catholic Mass at St. Augustine’s in Waikiki (awesome music with the Hawaiian guitar). Later, we got to see Pearl Harbor and remember the sacrifice of our soldiers in defense of freedom before catching an inter-island flight to Maui.

While in Maui, we walked along the beach every day, went snorkeling twice, sailed on a catamaran, went SCUBA diving (awesome), played in the waves, paddled an outrigger canoe, played volleyball, tennis and croquet, tried doing Tai Chi with an Asian instructor, swam in the various pools, ate excellent meals, explored the surrounding resorts and shopping areas, and I even tried on a Rolex watch and pretended that I might be interested in buying it.

It was a great trip. Much of it was paid for by my company for winning a sales contest and so I feel especially grateful. I hope to be able to take my kids back there someday. Check out the slide show for some cool pics.

http://www.slide.com/r/-Axeo_R_3z8c33A-5xRe4DZMx81Gnf9m?previous_view=mscd_embedded_url&view=original

 
2 Comments

Posted by on May 29, 2010 in Trips

 

2 responses to “An Enchanted Land

  1. Emily Cain McMillan

    May 30, 2010 at 12:50 am

    Hey Andrew!

    It is nearing my bed time as I read your blog here on the Big Island of Hawaii! My husband and I are here celebrating our first anniversary. We have been loving it here. I think it may be my favorite of all of the islands. Glad you had a great time..thanks for sharing.

    Emily

     
  2. Vicki Lambert

    June 18, 2010 at 5:40 pm

    Wow, what an amazing trip! Hawaii is such a fantastic place. I’m so glad you had such a wonderful time. We had a great time with your kids!!

     

Leave a Reply

 
