RSS

Influential Book on Relationships

08 Oct

I recently read an article regarding the classic Dale Carnegie book called “How to Win Friends and Influence People.” I first read that book at the urging of my mother, when I was a young teenager, and I can honestly say that it changed my life. I started to apply the principles in that book and I noticed that my interactions with those around me were much improved. The title of the book seems pretty self-serving and potentially manipulative. But I believe Carnegie’s basic points, when applied appropriately, are sound:

  • Don’t criticize, condemn or complain.
  • Give honest and sincere appreciation.
  • Become genuinely interested in other people.
  • Smile.
  • Be a good listener. Encourage others to talk about themselves.
  • Make the other person feel important and do it sincerely.

So I’ve decided to share some of these principles with my kids around the dinner table. Each week, I intend to focus on a different principle and hopefully it will have an affect on their lives.

What books have influenced your life?

 
5 Comments

Posted by on October 8, 2010 in Family

 

5 responses to “Influential Book on Relationships

  1. Pmom@chocolateandgarlic.com

    October 8, 2010 at 9:08 am

    Thanks for this post. That is a great book. I think it could help my daughter a lot–and probably me too. I will buy a copy right now.

     
  2. Mark

    October 8, 2010 at 10:33 am

    You know what I’m going to say…Crucial Conversations. Many of Carnegie’s principles are in there, but it also includes HOW to do them, not just WHAT to do. I wish I had known those principles when my kids were the ages your kids are. Keep learning, keep teaching; you’re a good dad.

     
  3. Deleyne Wentz

    October 8, 2010 at 7:45 pm

    My dad took a Dale Carnegie course many years ago and I really thought that was a fine book with great insights too. My current most influential book is Light in the Wilderness: Explorations in the Spiritual Life by M. Catherine Thomas. It’s an amazing book that has really influenced us and a number of our neighbors with whom we have discussed it. It gives you lots of different insights into the gospel. I think you would love it.

     
  4. Vicki Lambert

    October 20, 2010 at 6:27 am

    This is an amazing book and it’s cool that you are teaching your children these powerful truths.

     
  5. Dustin

    October 21, 2010 at 4:57 pm

    Andrew that is so cool 🙂 That was actually the very first self help book I ever read (when I was 21). I can honestly say it changed my life as well. It started me down the path of self improvement and with the belief that I can be anything I want to be. It got me excited about self improvement and although I have read hundreds of self help books I think it is the best one I have ever read. I cant say that I always used it for good (I used its principles to get out of so many speeding tickets I lost count) but can you imagine what a good place the world would be if we all abided by those principles and were kind to each other. Its always a good idea to reread every so often.

    – Dustin

     

Leave a Reply

 
