RSS

Counting Blessings

15 May

This year has been a great one so far. We’ve really been blessed as a family. Robin has been busy making curtains for our house, planting flowers and trying her best to keep our children fed and clothed. The kids have been enjoying their school work along with their other activities (Parley – band and scouts; Brianna – drawing class; Lily – gymnastics; James – being cute.) And I’ve been trying hard to support them by working hard at the bank.

In February, we bought a great 2004 Honda Odyssey to replace our 1994 Mercury Villager and we’ve loved it. We were able to sell our old car without too much trouble.

I’m still driving my 1995 Toyota Camry with 250,000+ miles on it. The pain job is fading and the interior is pretty ugly, but it still gets me from Point A to Point B, and I love not having a car payment. I’m hoping it will just keep plugging along.

At the end of March, our ward was divided and I was called to serve as Ward Clerk for the newly created ward. It’s been a fun challenge to work to get everything established for the Traverse Mountain 9th Ward, and I’ve enjoyed it. 

From January 1 to April 1, I lost 30 pounds and have kept it off for the last six weeks. To help me never revert back to my former weight, (I’ve gained and lost this same 30 pounds four times before), I have donated most of my clothes to the DI and gotten new ones, which is expensive. None of my suits fit anymore so I’ve either given them to the DI, or taken them into the tailor to be altered. Unfortunately, even after the alterations, they don’t look as good as the two new suits I recently got from Pierre Phillipe, a tailor in Lehi. Here’s an one of my two new suits for my new body.


A few months back, I began training for a the Utah Valley Marathon on June 11, 2011. While training for a big race like that is time-consuming, I have really enjoyed it. There’s nothing like running through nature (trails, parks, canyons, etc.) and having all that time to think about life or listen to interesting podcasts. Yesterday, I ran almost 17 miles down Provo Canyon to get a feel from what the course would be like for me in just four weeks. It capped of a very agressive training week in which I ran almost 50 miles over five sessions with rest days on Sunday and Wednesday.

Finally, on Saturday night, I had the cast of “The Importance of Being Earnest” come over to watch a DVD of our final performance. It was so much fun to see all those dear friends two weeks after the show closed on April 30. It was a short run (just five performances) and a small venue (seating 100 or so), but it was so much fun to tackle the challenge of brining the character of Jack to life. My fellow castmembers did a great job and we really enjoyed it. The rehearsal schedule was just two nights a week in February and March. April, however, was quite intense and time-consuming. So I’m glad it’s over, but I’m so glad I had the chance to be involved. Here’s a little clip of the conclusion of the play, in which my character (Jack Worthing) discovers his true origins, his relationship to the other characters on stage and his real name.

Here are a few photos from the show. For more pictures, scroll down to my earlier post about the play.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on May 15, 2011 in Family

 

2 responses to “Counting Blessings

  1. Robin

    May 15, 2011 at 7:27 pm

    That picture of you in your suit reminds me of some of our wedding pictures. Hubba hubba!

     
  2. Vicki Lambert

    May 16, 2011 at 9:41 pm

    Wow–I loved your post!! It was so fun to watch the last part of the play again. What a delightful show. You and the cast were terrific!

     

Leave a Reply

 
